Monday, April 30, 2012

Product Review: Venus Embrace

Today I'm reviewing a product that mysteriously showed up in my mailbox from Proctor & Gamble.  So, like any new product I try, I'm going to review it. The Venus Embrace is not a razor I have used before so I was excited to try it.  I had previously done a review of the Venus & Olay Razor which you can find here.  While I liked the Venus & Olay Razor I found that the moisture bars didn't last long for me and I ended up needing to use shaving cream anyway.  So, on to the review:

Product Details:
  • 5 blades for a dramatically smooth shave;
  • Ribbon of moisture for a smooth glide;
  • Interchangeable razor blade refill cartridges;
  • Soft grip handle for no-slip control.
Visit the Official Website to learn more.

My Initial Impression:  I like that it has five blades but I wish it came with something to hang/store it in the shower.  I see on the website that it does come with something like that but mine was just the razor so it did not. 

Pros:  Five blades, pretty pink color, moisture ribbons, easy grip handle for no slips.

Cons:  None that  I can think of.

Final Impression:  I actually liked this razor a lot better than the Venus & Olay.  I don't really mind using shaving gel and I find a get a smoother shave when I let the gel sit for a few moments before shaving anyway.  The razor has lasted through many uses and I have very thick hair so that is saying a lot for this product.  In fact, I will even go as far as to say that this is one of the best razors I have used in a long time.  I'm ready to purchase a new razor and I think I will definitely be going and getting one of these.  Thanks Proctor & Gamble for sending me the mysterious package!

This product was sent to me in the mail from Proctor & Gamble for unknown reasons.  I was no compensated in any way for this review.  I am not affiliated with Gillette or Proctor & Gamble in any way.  All opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Review: 2K Sports MLB 2K12

Major League Baseball 2K12

Alright so I know this isn't our usual type of post, at least as of late. I wanted to cater to some of our male readers and those that don't wear make-up. So I thought why not do a review on the new thing taking up my free time lately.
Now I'm not going to compare this to other MLB games out on the market because I haven't played any other MLB game. Since EA stopped producing an MLB game because they didn't re-sign and lost the right to the MLB label, I have been playing 2K Sports titles. I liked what they offered and haven't had a desire to try anything but 2K once I got into the game. My main draw to the game originally was that they offered it in the PC format. Since at the time I didn't have a gaming system of course this was a big reason for buying the game. Not to mention the PC version is a lot cheaper than it is for a gaming system.
Anyway I have purchased MLB 2K12 for PS3 and just like the previous years I love this game. You have different type of games you can choose from. You can play the dynasty which you take your team and play season after season while controlling your minor leagues, drafts and free agency. This is by far my favorite as it is many others because it more realistic. You have to sign players, resign players when their contracts run out, draft players for the future, know when they're ready to be moved up to the next level in your organization, hire and fire your coaches and training staff, and a lot more. At the moment you can only play games as your major league team and AAA team. Your AA and A games are all simulated. I kind of wish you could had the choice to control the games of all of your farm system, but it's good the way it is for now.
Another game you can choose from is Player Mode. This is where you can create a player and modify him to however you want him to look, and you options include everything you could think of from elbow pads to eye black, etc. You can pick the organization you want to play for and have to work your way up to the big leagues. Depending on the organization you are given different goals and expectations, and depending on how you perform in games and training depends on how many skill points you have to improve your player. Let's not forget you have clutch moments in games and depending on how well you perform during that clutch moment defines how clutch your player is.
Let me get into the new things they have added to the game this year. I have to say they are pretty awesome.
This isn't new but something that is a huge plus to me is that every time you turn the game on it's looking for the newest download with the newest and most up to date rosters. This is big and another reason I loved the games on the PC. Before if you played on the PC you had to wait until someone created the most up to date roster and post it to download.
The first improvement is MLB Today Season Mode.  Here you can play along with the real-life MLB season as it plays out. You can take control of your favorite MLB team however they stand as of that day and play the remainder of the season.
The next improvement and this is a pretty big one. This has to do with the Dynamic Tendency System. What's that? Well if you're playing baseball in real life and your facing a pitcher who has the tendency to always throw you a fastball on the first pitch, your going to expect that pitch every first pitch. Knowing this you know you can swing for the fences because you know for sure what's coming. The same thing if your pitching to a batter and they swing at everything or always swing at the first pitch no matter what. This system brings more of the real-life adjustments you need to make as a ball player into the game. It makes it much more strategic.
Another thing is your looking at more varied and realistic hits, from line drives in the gap to slow tappers down the line. Based on the physics of the game, including pitch location & speed and swing timing & accuracy. This is frustrating but in a good way. I want my game more realistic and with this it is. I get frustrated because I'm the one messing up swinging at the wrong pitch and popping out when the bases are loaded.
There's a new revamped throwing system with this game. Before if you field and throw it to second you couldn't cut off the throw before it gets to the base and try to get the slow guy now trying to score. Now, say you're throwing to first base and as your guy is winding up to throw the ball you notice the guy from third takes off for home. In the middle of your throw you can change your mind and throw home. Also before you catch the ball you can tell your player to throw to the cut off man or throw to a base. Here's the thing depending on our that players abilities you have more of a risk of throwing it away because his feet aren't set to make the throw. Little things like this make me happy because again it's more realistic.
Lastly as with any new release you're going to see improved AI (artificial intelligence). The only thing I would like to see more is more of the computers base runners take some kind of lead. Unless the guy is fast they only seem to take one step off the base. This may be something under options and I just haven't found it yet.
All in all I love this game. Everything 2K Sports has done in building this game and the improvements they made to make this as realistic as possible is a winner in my opinion. I highly recommend it to any sports loving gamer.
Here's a look at a screenshot from the game.

CJ Wilson

Disclaimer: All products were purchased by me and reviewed by me and my experience using this product.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.
*Photo's were taken from 2K Sports

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

April Beauty Army

Here is the last sample box I received this month and this time it is from Beauty Army.  I ordered three sample programs for this month but my ultimate goal is to narrow my subscriptions down to just two.  So I ordered all three to see which two I like best.  Anyway, here is what the box looked like when it arrived:

I have to say, this was by far my favorite packaging out of the three sample services.  The box is so adorable and definetly reusable.  Before I get into what was in this particular box I wanted to discuss how this sample service is different than the other two I signed up for.  For BeautyArmy you get to choose six products out of several choices that they give you each month before you receive your box.  So what i received in this box was actually products recommended by BeautyArmy and chosen by me, I love that!  Here is what was in the box:

Here is what was included in my box:
  • Neo-Cell Micro-Resurfacing Skin Treatment- Per CellCeuticals this is a skin treatment that uses "natural enzymes and volcanic micro-minerals to gently resurface skin without irritation, revealing smoother, more radiant, and healthier-looking skin. Natural enzymes and volcanic-minerals work together to exfoliate surface skin cells without irritation."  I'm excited to try this product as I'm always looking for a good exfoliating cleanser. 
  • Mama Mio Boob Tube- This is a skin firming lotion for your neck, your chest, and or course your boobs!  I chose this one because lets face it, I'm in my thirties, I have had a baby and my ta tas aren't quite as firm as they used to be.  TMI? Nah!  So I figured if this product does what it says it does it might be worth giving it a shot.  The website says Within a week, you will notice that the skin on your neck, your chest and your boobs looks firmer, fitter, glowing, more dewy and youthful.  You can check out the product information here.
  • BeFine Night Cream-  I'm so happy to get to try another product by Befine!  The website says it is a "rich,nourishing treatment that helps your skin recover,repair and recharge as you sleep. Bio-available nutrients moisturize and soften skin while natural estrogen work to reduce wrinkles and prevent premature aging."  Okay, sign me up!
  • Babor Anti-Stress Anti-Jetlag Cream-  I won't be having jetlag anytime soon but as a working mom to a three year old little boy my life is sure filled with enough stress!  Anything I can do to minimize the effect stress has on my skin is a definite plus for me.  The website says this is a "24-hour protection against the impact of stress and fatigue on the skin. Formulated to calm the skin, it quickly restores the skin's balance, strengthens its barrier function, helps maintain its natural defense mechanisms, keeps the body's biorhythms in sync and soothes irritations and redness."
  • Kellett Skincare Clarifying Acne Treatment-  I picked this because as a woman who suffers from PCOS unfortunately I have to deal with acne on a somewhat regular basis.  The only problem is this sample is so small I'm not sure how I could possibly see any results.  The website says it helps to clear up existing acne pimples and prevent breakouts by penetrating pores and killing acne causing bacteria.  Let's hope this small sample is enough to tell the difference. 
  • Aquolina Pink Sugar Eau De Toillette- I might be the only one but I actually love perfume samples, as long as they smell good.  The name Pink Sugar makes it sound yummy so hopefully it will smell yummy.  I did sneak a sniff of this already but I will save my first impression for my individual review.  I couldn't find a website for this one so you can check out the product here on BeautyArmy's website.   
Stay tuned for my review of each of the products!

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Monday, April 23, 2012

April's The Look Bag!

This is another goodie I received in the mail recently!  Again, I will be reviewing each product individually but I wanted to do a general post about I received in my Look Bag.  Here is how the bag looked when it arrived:

The bag itself is nice although I think I enjoy the reusable boxes I'm getting with my other sample subscriptions.  Now onto the goodies inside:

Here's what was included inside my bag:
  • Orofluido Beauty Elixr- This is a hair oil that says it is recommended for all hair types.  I have to say I'm a little nervous about this one because I have not had much success with other hair oil I have tried in the past.  Usually they make my hair look greasy so I'm curious to see how this one turns out.  The website says it reduces drying time if you apply it to wet hair so I'm interested to see if that is the case.
  • Purlisse SPF 30-  The website says this is a "superior full-spectrum sun protection in a light-weight nourishing moisturizer."  I'm excited to try this because I am definitely looking for a good moisturizer/sunblock combo.  I am VERY fair skin (read pale pasty) and I definitely need to keep my skin protected from the sun. 
  • CoCo Cosmetics Jovie Jubilee Luxury Body Lotion- The website says this is a moisturizing lotion that has tea tree oil and pro vitamins to help your skin stay soft and smooth.  I love yummy smelling body lotion so hopefully I will like this product. 
  • Laura Mercier Perfecting Water Rich- I must say "perfecting water" is something I didn't even know  existed.  I wasn't even sure what it was when I saw it.  The website says it is "a hydrating fluid that temporarily over-hydrates skin allowing deeper penetration of ingredients, moisturizers and serums in further treatments."  I'm not sure how to feel about this one.  I am interested to see if it really shows a noticeable difference after using it.
  • Virga Botanicals Fragrance- The scent I got was Water Garden.  Here is what the website has to say about this scent: "This is a true floral! It has light, liquid notes of ylang ylang, rose, ginger lily and bergamot, with some cheerful citrus added in. A really youthful, happy, super-feminine fragrance!   Made to smell like joyous freedom, a languid afternoon in the sun-kissed woods by a tiny flower-covered waterfall."  Honestly, it was very difficult to get the lid off of the sample to smell it so I haven't even smelled this one yet.
Overall I'm pretty excited to try these new products so stay tuned for my reviews.

If you are interested in signing up to get your own LookBag you can sign up here

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Product Review: Befine Skincare Sampler

Today I'm doing a review on the very first products I tried from my April Birchbox.  As I mentioned in my last post I LOVE brown sugar so I was happy to see these in my Birchbox this month.  The Befine Skincare Sampler came with three "single serve" Exfoliating Cleanser with Brown Sugar, Sweet Almond & Oats and two "single serve" Daily Moisturizer with SPF 15 with Rosemary, Pomegranate & Rice.  Here is the adorable little box the samples came in:

I love all of the bright colors on this box! 

Product Details:

Exfoliating Cleanser:  This is what Befine's website has to say: "This daily mini-facial for your skin melts away dirt and debris,instantly brightening and improving your skin's clarity.Yhe delicious medley of brown sugar,crushed almonds and soothing oats gently removes damaged skin cells.This multi-tasking essential is a delight for your skin!

Benefits: Removes Impurities and environmental stresses.Detoxifies and rejuvenates the skin for a healthy glow. Helps skin maintain optimal moisture balance. Provides natural anti-bacteria & antioxidant protection Calms,soothes & heals the skin."

 Daily Moisterizer:  This is what Befine's website has to say:  "This sillky, lightweight daily moisturizer hydrates and helps balance the skin's moisture levels. Packed with powerful anti-oxidents and proteins,daily moisturizer strengthens and supports the skin's firmness and elasticity,while SPF protects your skin from harmful UV damage.

Benefits: Increases circulation and restores the barrier function of the skin. Increases effectiveness of SPF,protecting skin from free radical damage. Delivers intense hydration. Skin looksyounger,healthier. Heals skin by accelerating tissue repair.Boosts collagen growth and decreases the appearance of aging."

Where to Buy: You can purchase these products from Befine's website here.  I did not see anywhere else that sold these products.  The good news is I think they are fairly cheap for good quality products, you can get both products full size for $24.00 each for 4 o.z. of the Exfoliating Cleanser and 1.7 o.z. of the Moisterizer.  They also have lots of yummy sounding products that I might just have to try out.  Their website if definitely worth taking a look at. 

My Initial Impression:  Like I said above I loved the packaging for these products, I thought it was colorful and very well done.  I also thought that the names of the products made me excited to try them.

Pros:  The smell of the Exfoliating Cleanser was heavenly!  I did like the smell of the Moisterizer although it was a very muted "clean" smell.  The Exfoliating Cleanser made my face feel so smooth after using it.  I absolutely loved using this product and I used all three packets three days in a row.  The Moisterizer had the consistancy of  light sunblock.  I used one packet of Exfoliating Cleanser for each application but I am still on my fist packet of Moisterizer due to not needing a lot of the Moisterizer with each use.

Cons:  There are very few if any cons to these products.  The only cons I can think of is that I thought it was a little difficult to get the products out of the sample packets, especially the cleanser because it was so thick.  I also learned that very little of the Moisterizer goes a long way, too much and it's a bit greasy. 

Final Impression:  I was very impressed with both of these products and I would definetly consider buying them and making them part of my every day routine.  I would also love to try some of the other products on Befine's website

That's all for now, stay tuned as I review the remaining products from my April Birchbox.

Check out Birchbox's website if you are interested in trying one of your own.

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or Befine.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Thursday, April 19, 2012

April Birchbox!

I'm excited because yesterday I received my very first Birchbox!  I will be reviewing each of the products individually but I wanted to give you a sneak peek at what was included in the Birchbox.  Here is how the box arrived.

And here is how the products were packages inside, so cute!

Here's what was included in my box:

  • Befine Skincare Sampler- This includes three packets of the Befine Exfoliating Cleanser and two packets of the Befine Daily Moisterizer with SPF 15.  I can already tell I'm going to be a fan of this stuff because I LOVE the smell of brown sugar! Check out Befine's website Here, their stuff looks yummy!
  • Color Club Nail Lacquer in Age of Aquarius- I love the color in the bottle! I have to admit I have never tried Color Club polish but I love bold cream colors so this one will hopefully be one I will like.  You can check our Color Club's website Here.
  • Juicy Couture's Viva La Juicy- I hear a lot of people complain about perfume samples but I love trying new scents and a quick sniff of this one smelled very nice.  You can check out the website Here.
  • June Jacobs Perfect Pumpkin Enzyme Polish- This is a facial scrub that I have never heard of but I love the pumpkin smell!  Check out their website for other products they carry.
  • ShowStoppers Designer Fashion Tape- I'm not sure I would ever use these but I will try to find an opportunity to fit them in somewhere.  You can check out the website here, the video on the homepage is hilarious!
I can't wait to test out these products as they are all products I have never tried before.  Stay tuned for my indivudal reviews for each product!

Check out Birchbox's website if you are interested in trying one of your own. 

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Sunday, April 15, 2012

Review: Orijen Dry Cat Food

Alright so since our review of the Science Diet Cat food it had us thinking more about the food that our girls are consuming. We ran out of the Science Diet dry food and were in need of more dry food. There is a organic market up the street (MOM's Organic Market) and is closer than running to the grocery store so I thought I would run in and grab them a small bag of food until we can get to the store. While in there I came across this bag of Orijen cat food. The first thing that caught my attention was the "Pet Food of The Year" labels under the Product name. This was for back to back years 2009-2010 & 2010-2011. I have to admit with the pet food scare we had some time ago this is real important finding a reliable food for our girls. At first they weren't sure about the new food. In fact our youngest cat was the first to try it and actually ate a good bit of it. It wasn't until the next day before the oldest would try any. Once they both ate the food they didn't hesitate eating more. I did some more research on cat's diets and came across the following.

Grains first appeared in pet food about 70 years ago, when consumers were much less educated about pet nutrition than today and wanted the convenience of dog or cat food in a bag. Pet food manufacturers were able to reduce costs by using inexpensive calories from grains and grain byproducts.
While grains such as rice or wheat provided low-cost calories, their high carbohydrate content and high-glycemic properties cause blood sugar swings and elevation, which leads to excess body fat, diabetes and a host of related health problems.
The fact is that cats and dogs are simply not evolved to metabolize the large quantities of cereal grains found in today's conventional pet foods, and are designed to metabolize their energy from protein and fat.

What we have noticed in the girls since we've been feeding them this grain free dry food is that Sarah our youngest cat who has been having a lot of hairballs hasn't been leaving us messes around the house. It hasn't stopped them but it has cut down on them a lot. The other is they are much more active. Learning more about cat's diets and cat food in general I have not and do not plan on purchasing their old food we have fed them for years.
This Orijen food seems like another winner in the eyes of our cats, and for us the retailer is close by. However just like the Science Diet food you are limited to where you can find this food. The other thing also similar to the Science Diet food is the price. It is a little more than what we paid for in the chain grocery store, but then again I guess you get what you pay for. Orijen you have our business.


Disclaimer: All products were purchased by me and reviewed by me and my experience using this product.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Product Review: Children's Claritin® Syrup

I know I have mentioned before that I am the mother to a very active three year old little boy.  My little guy loves to play outside but unfortunately he also suffers from allergies.  The older he gets the more noticeable it has become, especially around the springtime.  That's why I was excited when I was asked to try and review Children's Claritin® Syrup.

Product Details:

  • 24 hour relief for your child’s worst allergy symptoms without drowsiness.
  • Effective on indoor and outdoor allergies.
  • Safe and effective for kids ages 2 years and older.
  • Dye-Free
  • Sugar-Free
  • Alcohol-Free
Where to Buy:

Drug stores, grocery stores, discount stores.

My Initial Impression:  My son isn't the best at taking medicine and usually we give him chewables so I was a little nervous on whether he would even take this stuff.  It is clear which is great, especially if you have a "squirmer" when it comes to giving medicine.

Pros:  Dye free, smells good, DOES last 24 hours.  My little guy's allergies seem to get worse at night when he goes to bed and I could definitely tell a difference when he went to sleep.  

Cons:  None that I can think of.

Final Impression:  I am impressed with the product overall.  As I said before my son isn't the best at taking medicine and this medicine was no exception.  He fought me like crazy to take it.  I did finally get him to take it however and it did seem to work as claimed.  We decided instead to purchase the chewable version of the medicine which he takes willingly and it works great too!  So bottom line, whichever option is easier for you, whether it be the liquid or chewable form I would definitely recommend the Children's Claritin brand.

And here's a coupon for you!

Disclaimer: All products were provided to me free of charge by BzzAgent for review.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.

Product Review: Knorr® Homestyle Stock

Hello strangers!  I have been away for a bit because life has been crazy with Easter and everything.  Now that life has calmed down a bit I am here to bring you some great reviews!  Today I'm reviewing Knorr® Homestyle Stock which was provided to me for review by Smiley360.com.

Product Details:

Knorr® Homestyle Stock is a concentrated stock made with carefully selected ingredients.  I got the chicken flavor to review.

I also received a booklet full of a few recipes to try if I wanted however I had already planned out a menu for that week so I decided to incorporate the stock into my already planned menu.  Let's face it, if you're a busy mom like me you aren't always going to plan an entire meal around one ingredient so I decided to throw some of the stock into our side dish that night, which just so happened to be a big pot of leafy green kale!  We love kale at our house and we usually add some sort of stock to it anyway so we thought we would give it a try.  The stock itself comes in a cute little tub with a little chicken on the top.

I was delighted to find that each tub makes 3-1/2 cups of broth so we started out just adding one tub to our kale but ended up using two tubs in the end.  The stock inside the tub is a jelly like consistency and comes out solid.

Where to Buy:

You can find Knorr® Homestyle Stock in the broth aisle at your local supermarket retailer.

My Initial Impression:  I love the packaging on this product!  Not only is the outer packaging bright and colorful I just love the little tubs with the chicken on top!  The tubs are easy to open and the product comes out easily.  I was a little put off initially because of the texture of the stock (jelly-like) but it concentrated so it's okay.

Pros:  Colorful packaging and cute little tubs, smells yummy.  Tastes yummy too!

Cons:  The flavor was a little muted for being a concentrated stock.  I had to add two tubs in order to taste it and later when I added it to rice I had to add two tubs as well.

Final Impression:  Overall I enjoyed the Knorr® Homestyle Stock and I may eventually try it in an actual recipe to see if I can bring out the flavors a little more.  I have some coupons so I am planning on purchasing the product again in the future.  I would recommend this product if you use stock in your cooking a lot like I do.

Disclaimer: All products were provided to me free of charge by Smiley360.com for review.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.