Thursday, May 31, 2012

Product Review: Kelly Teegarden - Vitality - Rose & Cucumber Eye Cream

Happy Thursday!  One day closer to the weekend!  Does anyone have any exciting plans this weekend?  I really need to spend some time getting my house in order.  I hate coming back from a vacation and going right back to work because I feel like I need a couple of days just to recover from my vacation.  I also need to do some swatches for some of the products I received this month.
Anyway, today I'm reviewing a product I received in my May LookBag, Kelly Teegarden - Vitality - Rose & Cucumber Eye Cream.  I was super excited to try this product because not only is it all natural but the story behind the products is pretty amazing as well.  The products are developed by Kelly Teegarden, a thyroid cancer survivor.  Her story is pretty amazing, check it out here.  
Here's the truth: Until I had my son and hit my 30's I never really cared about what types of chemicals were in the products I used.  Now I'm finding myself checking those labels just to see what types of ingredients are included in the products I use and the products I use on my son.  I'm not saying that I'm going all organic but I am definitely making an attempt to use more natural products.  Now, on to the review!
The sample pot was adorable and I think it is actually a pretty good size considering a little of this product goes a long way.  I have been using this product every night for almost two weeks now and I still have a lot left.  The product doesn't have any odor at all that I could smell.  I am not a fan of smelly facial moisturizers or eye creams so I was pleased that I couldn't detect an odor.  
The formula is light and very smooth.  You only need a very tiny dot to apply under your eyes.
I have been applying it after washing my face at night and right before bed.  I don't have much trouble with dark circles or puffiness under my eyes but I do have some fine lines under my eyes.  After using this product for almost two weeks I can say that I have noticed a small change in the lines under my eyes.  Overall I am very pleased with this product and I would absolutely recommend it.  I like the company and what they stand for and I love the story behind the products.  I had never heard of this company before receiving this product in my LookBag so I'm glad I did!  If you are interested in purchasing the full sized product you can get it on their website for $30.00.  I think the product is very reasonably priced and 1.18 oz full size bottle would last you a long time.  They have a lot of other products in their store that sound great too! 

Did you get this product in your LookBag this month or have you ever tried it?  What did you think?

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or Kelly Teegarden.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Product Review: Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25+

Sorry it's taking me a while to get to my sample boxes this month.  My schedule has been crazy at work and at home so it leaves little time in between for things like blogging.  I also like to use the products a few times before I review them because, well how can you review something you have only used once?  However, today I am going against my previous statement and review something I only tried once.  Why you ask?  Well because this sample only had enough in it for one use, barely.  I'm talking about the Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25+ I received in my May Gossip Girl inspired Birchbox.

Now, let me make it clear that I am aware that Birchbox is a sample program and I am fully expecting to only receive samples of products.  Still, I feel like I should get at least three uses out of a sample before I could possibly conclude whether I like it or not.  The picture you see below is the full amount of sample that was in the tube.  That's it.

It was barely enough for one application.  So, I'm giving my review based on the very limited use I got from the sample. 

Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25+ claims to be a moisturizer, sunscreen, and treatment serum all-in-one, this tinted balm even helps hide imperfections—so there’s no need for foundation or cover-up. Think of it as the Swiss Army Knife of your beauty cabinet.

How it Works:

A combination of glacier water, deep ocean water, hyaluronic acid, and aloe vera deeply hydrate skin to ensure you that you look dewy, never dry. Sebum-regulating ingredients keep your complexion from becoming greasy, while portulaca oleracea extract protects skin from environmental damage. The cherry on top of this multi-tasking product is broad-spectrum SPF 25+, which blocks harmful UVA and UVB rays from reaching your skin.

How to Use:

Apply as you would a tinted moisturizer or foundation. Layer as needed.


My Impression:  I may be the minority here but I was unimpressed.  I found that this product had very little coverage and had almost totally disappeared after I applied it.  I still needed to use my foundation.  Now, the directions say layer as needed, which would be fine if I had enough product to layer.  So, unfortunately I was not sold on this product.  It could have been due to the lack of product that I received (ie. not enough to test) or it could be that the product is not for me.  Also, I'm not sure but it doesn't appear to come in any different shades.  Like I said before, I'm a pasty pale white girl and need very fair colors to match my skin tone.  Did you get this product in your May Birchbox or have you tried it in the past?  If so, what did you think?

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or any Dr. Jart+.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.   

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

May Beauty Army Box!

Happy Tuesday!  Hope you all had an amazing holiday weekend!  I know we did.  We spent the weekend at our farmhouse in Western Maryland.  No Internet, no television, no phones, just quality family time.  We had a blast!  Well, now that we're getting back into the the swing of things I'm sharing my May Beauty Army box with you!

Here is what was included in this month's box:
  • Welda Refining Toner- I picked this because I am always looking for a better toner.  Does anyone else have the problem of their toner leaving a smell on their face when mixed with foundation?  Maybe it's just me but I feel like I can always smell my toner even hours after applying it.  So I chose this one hoping that it didn't leave a smell behind.  
  • Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing Cream- I chose this product because I am always looking to try new moisturizers, plus, I read in some people's reviews that it reduces redness.
  • Institut Karite Rejuvenating Hand Cream- I picking this one because my hands are so dry!  I frequently wash my hands throughout the day and they are always very dry.  
  • Cover FX ClearPrep FX- Right now I'm using bareMinerals Prime Time Foundation Primer  which I like but I'm always willing to try new primers.  Plus, this one isn't just a foundation primer but also a anti-acne treatment gel!  
  • Korres Body Butter Guava- This just sounded yummy!
  • Mama Mio Tummy Rub Butter- Yes, I realize this one is for pregnancy, and no, I'm not pregnant.  I didn't like any of my other options so I ordered this fir a friend.  I liked the other Mama Mio product I tried so I figured this one might be good too.  
Overall I'm pretty pleased with my May picks.  Stay tuned for individual reviews of the products.  Do you get the Beauty Army box?  If so what did you choose this month?  If not, what are you waiting for?  

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.

Friday, May 25, 2012

Product Review: Terro Liquid Ant Bait Killer

Have an ant problem in or around your home? If you're like us you may have these tiny black ants that no matter what you do they just don't go away. It's as if they show up for no reason. We would keep our counters clean and clear and they would show up around the sink, and show up in cabinets even though everything was closed and sealed. We've tried all kinds of sprays, bait traps, sprayed around the outside perimeter of the house, everything! They may disappear for a day or two but would be right back. We even sprinkled borax around the outside of the house which kills ants but they would take it back to the colony. Then I saw an ad and watched on online video from Terro about their product.
The only product I could find at our local Lowes and Home Depot was the Terro Liquid Ant Bait traps. Which was the product I really wanted to begin with. When you're looking at the Terro Liquid ant killer you have two options. You have the Terro Liquid Ant Killer ($3.99) which comes in an eye drop looking container and you just place a drop on a surface. Then you have the Liquid Ant Baits ($8.99 6 bait stations) which is a plastic bait station which holds the liquid ant killer in 2 small reservoirs.
Wondering how it works and why this product kills the entire colony? The liquid used is sweet and similar to pancake syrup and contains Borax which is the active ingredient that kills the ants. The ants will take this back to the colony and wipe them out. Is this safe to use around the house when you have kids and pets? Yes it is. Since the liquid is similar to pancake syrup it's harmless and the Borax is a natural mineral that's found in a lot of house hold products for instance laundry detergent. All you have to do is place one of these bait stations on the corner of your counter or to the closest point of entry that you can find. You want to do this because once you put this bait station out in the next couple days you are going to see a lot of ants lined up going in an out of this trap. THIS IS NORMAL. You will definitely see a large increase in the number of ants! However they usually don't stray from the bait station so they are pretty contained to the station and the line they travel back and forth. It's worth it because in the days to follow you will not only see a decrease in the number of ants you will also see them dead along the way. The good news is once they are gone they are gone for months. At least that's the results we have had. Then after that you can replace these bait stations periodically to make sure stragglers are taken care of as well. We've even placed them outside wherever we see them swarm and it works the same outside. In fact they have outdoor products to help control ants and other insects.
We ABSOLUTELY recommend this product! It works, just be patient when you first put it out and you see more ants show up. Terro products are also very fairly priced and isn't going to hurt your wallet.
We have been using the Terro Liquid Ant Bait as well as the Outdoor Ant Killer Shaker Bag and our home is ant and insect free.

Disclaimer: All products were purchased by me and reviewed by me and my experience using this product.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.
*Photo's were taken from Terro

A Call to All Lurkers!

I know you're out there...I see you are reading...but who ARE you?  I want to know about you!  If you have a blog let me know what it is so I can follow your blog.  I'm not new to blogging in general, but I am new to this niche of the blogging community and I would love to get to know all of you!  So, here is a call to all the lurkers out there: Let me know who you are and where you came from.  Even if you don't have your own blog or even if your blog isn't a product review/beauty blog I'd still like to know all about you.  Pretty please? 

Thursday, May 24, 2012

May LookBag!

I love this time of month!  It’s the best time of month because all of my sample subscriptions start arriving and I get to try out some awesome new products.  Today I have a sneak peak at my May LookBag!  Here’s what was included inside this month:

  • Two polishes from the The New Black - Runway - Color Baromoter collection in Electrical Banana and Midnight Blue.  I honestly thought the Midnight Blue was back until I looked a little closer.  These colors are similar to some that I already have but I’ll never turn down a bottle of nail polish.  I have never tried this brand before so I’m interested to test out the formula.  I can tell you that I won’t be doing a mani featuring these two colors together because the blue looks black and I won’t be caught dead with a black and yellow mani, sorry Steelers fans but I’m a die hard Ravens fan!  
  • L`Oreal - Wear Infinite Pressed Eyeshadow Single in Sweet Chemise- Yay!  I finally got an eye shadow sample in one of my sample boxes!  I love soft light colors so this one is perfect. 
  • Erno Laszlo - The Collection 5 Piece Creams- For some reason I get offended when I see sample packets like this.  I’m looking forward to trying out the whole collection so I’m glad they gave me one of each though.  The packets include: Velvet Night Cream, Instant Eye Repair, Refresh Moisture Infusion, Intense Porcelain Veil, and Morning Beauty Rescue.  The concept behind the products is really cute- the five formulas are inspired by Dr. Laszlo's most legendary and iconic devotees: Greta Garbo, Ava Gardner, Grace Kelly, Katherine Hepburn, and Marilyn Monroe.  I’ve never tried any Erno Laszlo products so I’m excited to try these though.  I can tell you that a quick peek at the prices for these reveal that they are pretty expensive so they would have to be pretty good for me to shell out that kind of money. 
  • Naked Princess - Naked Shine Luscious Lip Gloss-  This is supposed to be a lip plumper that is supposed to “plump lips without irritation to reduce the appearance of fine lines”.  I love lip gloss and I love these colors so I’m excited to try them out.    
  • Kelly Teegarden - Vitality - Rose & Cucumber Eye Cream-  I’m so glad they included an eye cream this month because I have been noticing some serious lines under my eyes lately.  I can’t wait to try it out!

Well, that wraps up my May LookBag sneak peak!  Overall I’m very pleased with the products included in this month’s bag.  Like I said, I was slightly taken aback by the appearance of the dreaded sample packets in my bag but as long as they turn out to be decent products I won’t complain.  Stick around for my reviews of the individual products.  Thanks for reading!

If you are interested in signing up to get your own LookBag you can sign up here.  

 The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

May Birchbox!

So here I am, finally sharing my May Birchbox with you.  I actually a little over a week ago but things have been crazy here and I also wanted to finish up reviewing the April box before I started the May box.  This month Birchbox did a themed box based off of the show Gossip Girl which is a show that airs on The CW.  Now, I have to admit, I have never in my life seen this show.  I have heard about it but it didn't really seem like a show I would want to watch.  I was still excited for my very first themed box since joining Birchbox though.  The box was the same only it had a little cover over the top of the box with a cityscape view.  For whatever reason my camera would NOT take a picture of the outside of the box so I gave up and here is an image from Birchbox's website. 
This Month's Box
 Here is the inside of the box and the card that came with it. 

Here is how everything was packaged:

And here are the products that were included in my Gossip Girl May Birchbox:

  •  Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25+- This product is a tinted moisturizer, sunscreen, and treatment serum all-in-one.  I have never heard of this brand so I was excited to try it.  I was slightly concerned that it is tinted because I am very pale and usually anything "tinted" makes me look orange. Birchbox says this is the "Swiss Army Knife of your beauty cabinet"- love it!  
  • Kérastase Cristalliste Bain Cristal Shampoo & Conditioner-  At first I was a little peeved that these were packets.  I got over it quick enough because I have pretty short hair so I thought I might be able to get a few uses out of these.  Birchbox says these are designed specifically for ladies with long, fine hair, which I don't have.  My hair is pretty fine but it isn't long.  However, this product promised to give shine while not weighing down hair, which I could totally use.  Did it deliver?  You'll have to wait and see. 
  • Kérastase Cristalliste Lumiere Liquide- This product is a leave-in treatment that claims to add a high-definition shine while sealing each cuticle.  I can tell you that when I took a quick sniff of this product I loved the scent!  It reminded me of lilacs which in turn remind me of the month of May.  
  • Color Club® Foil Collection in Disco Nap-  Another Color Club polish, good thing I love the nail polish!  At first glace I wasn't crazy about the color- gold really isn't my thing, but I'm willing to give it a try.   
  • stila sparkle waterproof liquid eye liner in Curacao-  I was very excited to see this product because I love eyeliner but I am not a fan of liquid eyeliners and I am definitely not used to wearing blue eyeliner.  I will say though that the color has a beautiful shimmer and in the name of trying new things I'm going to give this one a try.
  • Birchbox Note card-  I have to admit, I was pretty ticked when I saw that one note card was included as a sample this month.   What could I possibly do with one note card?  Anyway, it's a nice color I guess...
That wraps up my intro post for my May Birchbox.  Stay tuned as I try out and review each of these products!  Did you get a Gossip Girl Birchbox this month?  If so, did you love it?

Check out Birchbox's website if you are interested in trying one of your own. 

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.  

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Summer Soap Box!

I know it's two posts in one day but I'm so excited I just had to share!  I've been waiting forever (or so it seems) to get a Soap Box from Fortune Cookie Soap and I just got my email with my subscription link for the summer soap box!  I really don't need another subscription service but this one is only quarterly so it isn't a monthly thing.  I haven't exactly informed the hubby yet so I will let him find out by reading this post.

The June 2012 Summer Soap Box includes: 
  • $10 Fortune Cookie Soap Gift Code (via email)
  • 1oz. Whipped Cream in Pinky Swear
  • 1oz. Body Wash in Road Trip
  • Mini Mister of Sparkle Me! in Beach Bunny (NEW!)
  • Flip Flop shaped Bath Bomb in Private Beach
  • 1 Fortune Cookie Soap in Sand Dollar
  • 1oz. OCD in Summer Sweet Tea
  • 1oz. Dry Shampoo in Wish You Were Here...(NEW!)
  • 1 Hydrate Me! Body Conditioning Bar in Pool Party (NEW!)
  • 1 Solid Sugar Scrub, Sugar Fix, in Sugar Britches (NEW!)
  • 1 badass FCS temporary tattoo
The cost of the box is $19.99 every 3 months.  If you are interested in getting on their waiting list you can sign up here.

I can't wait to try out these new products, and here's to hoping that the hubby doesn't kill me for ordering something else...I love you babe! 

NOTD: Color Club Nail Lacquer in Age of Aquarius

Hey there!  Just wanted to share a NOTD (Nail of the Day) post to show off the polish I received in my April Birchbox.  I'm no pro at taking nail art shots so the color representation isn't exact or anything.  If you're looking for perfect swatches I bet there are a ton out there, but I got a lot of compliments about this mani so I thought I would share.

Like I said, I'm no pro and my nails are super short so probably not the best for showing off nail polish but I LOVE painting my nails and so I'm going to share any cute manis I do with you!  By the way, if anyone has any suggesstions on any nail treatments that would help my very soft peeling nails I am all ears.

In addition to Color Club Nail Lacquer in Age of Aquarius which is the base color for this mani I used a very fine gold craft glitter applied with a makeup sponge to just the tips of my nails while they were still tacky.  I finished it off with a top coat of Seche Vite.  I love this color, what do you think?

This wraps up my April Birchbox products, finally!  Stay tuned for the un-boxing of my May Birchbox.  Thanks for reading!

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or any Color Club.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Friday, May 18, 2012

Product Review: Laura Mercier Perfecting Water Rich

Today I bring you a review of a product I received in my April Look Bag- Laura Mercier Perfecting Water Rich.  The sample size I received was 0.34 fl oz.  

Product Details: Hydrating fluid that temporarily over-hydrates skin allowing deeper penetration of ingredients, moisturizers and serums in further treatments.  Rebuilds & repairs skin's surface layers and lipid barriers.
  • Antioxidants protect against daily aggressors
  • Minimizes and reduces the appearance of pores while addressing surface dehydration
  • Fresh, gel texture provides higher levels of moisture and a richer feel on the skin
  • Never drying
Perfecting Water - Rich - Works best for normal to dry skin.
Perfecting Water - Light - Ideal for normal to oily skin.  Use on clean, dry skin.

Saturate a Cotton Square and gently massage over the entire face and neck using a patting motion. Apply morning and evening.  Source.

When I saw this product I had no idea what it was, nor had I ever heard of "perfecting water."  I mean, do people really pay for water?  But, after using the product, although it may be clear it really isn't actual water.  It is slightly thicker than water and when applied to the face leaves a tacky feeling to the skin for a while (at least it did for me).  The tacky feeling goes away once it dries and leaves your skin feeling soft and smooth.  Overall I found this to be a pretty nice product, but the truth is, I don't need another step in my daily routine and for me this isn't a "must have".  So while I enjoyed the product and will use the rest of it I don't think I will be purchasing it at this time.  Have you ever tried this product?  What do you think?  Take it or leave it?

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or Laura Mercier.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Product Review: Neo-Cell Micro-Resurfacing Skin Treatment

Today I'm review yet another awesome product I received in my April BeautyArmy box- Neo-Cell Micro-Resurfacing Skin Treatment.  I think I said before that I love facial scrubs so it should be no surprise that I picked this product for my April Beauty Army box. 

Product Details: Neo-Cell Micro-Resurfacing Skin Treatment uses natural enzymes and volcanic micro-minerals to gently resurface skin without irritation, revealing smoother, more radiant, and healthier-looking skin. Natural enzymes and volcanic-minerals work together to exfoliate surface skin cells without irritation. Source.

I actually got to try three difference facial scrubs this month.  You can find the other two reviews here and here.  This scrub was the finest and most gentlest of the three I tried.  I loved how it felt on my face.  It also left my skin feeling smooth and clean after using it.  I loved all three facial scrubs so much that I'm torn about which one I like the best.  I know one of these has to be added to my daily routine but how do I decide?  What facial scrub do you use?

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or CellCeuticals.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Product Review: Babor Anti-Stress Anti-Jetlag Cream

Today I will be reviewing a product I received from my April Beauty Army box- Babor Anti-Stress Anti-Jetlag Cream.  I picked this product because I have noticed some small lines on my face and some darkness under my eyes.  The little jar it came in was adorable.  Like most of my other Beauty Army samples I was very pleased with the size of the sample- 1/2 oz.

Product Details:  This soft-textured cream provides 24-hour protection against the impact of stress and fatigue on the skin. Formulated to calm the skin, it quickly restores the skin's balance, strengthens its barrier function, helps maintain its natural defense mechanisms, keeps the body's biorhythms in sync and soothes irritations and redness. Ideal for frequent flyers! Source.

I used this product quite few times immediately before bed on a clean face.  It made my face feel amazingly smooth when I woke up in the morning.  As for the claims that it soothes irritation and redness, I didn't have a lot of irritation and redness at the time so I couldn't really test this claim out.  This was a take it or leave it product for me, I didn't love it and I didn't hate it.  I actually ended up giving it to my mother-in-law who loved it!  I have quite a stash of moisturizers and the like and I just didn't see myself finishing this product but I knew that she would.  Overall, I feel that this particular product isn't right for me but it may be right for some people, like I said, my mother-in-law loved it.  Add that to a pretty hefty price tag at $72.00 for a full size product (1.7 oz) and I don't think I will be adding this one to my daily routine.

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Babor.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.  

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Product Review: BeFine Night Cream

Today I'm reviewing another product from my April BeautyArmy box- BeFine Night Cream.  I'm glad I picked this product for my April Beauty Army box because I got some other Befine products in my April Birchbox and I loved them!  The sample size I got was 0.5 fl oz.

Product Details: A rich, nourishing treatment that helps your skin recover,repair and recharge as you sleep. Bio-available nutrients moisturize and soften skin while natural estrogen work to reduce wrinkles and prevent premature aging. Sheer Heaven For Beautiful Skin! Reduces the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Improves circulation for better color and clarity. Helps skin retain critical moisture to feel nourished and hydrated. Protects skin from damage. Source.

After using this product it just confirmed my new found love for anything Befine.  I love the Befine brand because while the products are very good quality they aren't super expensive.  For a working mom like me that is a definite plus!  I applied this product on a clean face right before bedtime.  When I woke up in the morning my skin felt soft and smooth.  In addition, it did appear to lessen the appearance of the very fine lines that I have under my eyes.  Overall, once again I was very pleased with another Befine product.  When I run out of my sample I may be adding this to my nightly routine, unless I get something I like better in between now and then.  By the way, have you checked out Befine's website?   If not, you have to go over there and see all of the yummy products they carry! 

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Befine.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Monday, May 14, 2012

Recipe Review: Pork Chops w/ Apples & Kraut

Alright so here's something new for our site. Morrisa and I are both doing Weight Watchers. We know that there are other's out there that are always in search of good food that is not only healthy and point friendly but tastes good. So as we come across these foods and recipes we are going to share them with you.

We followed this recipe exactly and really found a winner. This was AWESOME!! One thing I may change is I would throw the whole bag of kraut in with the apples. I'd rather have more sauerkraut than it called for, only because you're using the kraut and apples to top your pork chop and you can use a cup full to top it off. Since sauerkraut with Weight Watchers is free points wise you don't have to worry about adding too much of it. The pairing of the pork chop, apples, and sauerkraut is great because you get a salty, sweet and sour combination.

Pork Chops with Sauteed Apples and Sauerkraut  
6 Points

Prep Time: 8 minutes     Cook Time: 15 minutes     Serves: 4


  • 1 Pound lean boneless pork chops, center-cut, and 1/2-inch thick, trimmed of all visible fat, 4 (1/4-pound)
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground
  • 2 tsp safflower oil (has the same nutritional value as Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
  • 3 medium fresh apples, Golden Delicious, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup sauerkraut, drained (Best to use bagged, refrigerated sauerkraut as opposed to canned)
  • 1/2 tsp caraway seeds

Sprinkle the pork with 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1/8 teaspoon of pepper. Heat 1 teaspoon of the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the pork and cook until browned and cooked through, 3-4 minutes on each side. Transfer to a plate and keep warm.

Heat the remaining 1 teaspoon oil in the skillet. Add the apples and cinnamon. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the apples begin to brown and get soft, 3-4 minutes. Add the sauerkraut, caraway seeds, and the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Cook until sauerkraut mixture begins to brown, 2-3 minutes. Serve with the pork. Yields 1 pork chop with 1/2 cup sauerkraut-apple mixture per serving.


Recipe taken from Weight Watcher's

This recipe was produced by Weight Watchers and is not of my own.  I am not affiliated with Weight Watchers.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Friday, May 11, 2012

Product Review: Mama Mio Boob Tube

When I was picking out my products for my April BeautyArmy box I just had to add Mama Mio Boob Tube into the mix!  I mean seriously, let's face it, I'm not getting any younger and with age things aren't quite a firm as they used to be.  Oh yes, I'm totally going there.  I know there is no miracle product out there but I thought this product might be worth giving a try.  The sample I received was 1 fl oz. 

Product Details:  Aim North, not South! What women really love about Boob Tube is that the quality of their skin changes so quickly. Within a week, you will notice that the skin on your neck, your chest and your boobs looks firmer, fitter, glowing, more dewy and youthful. Daily use will maintain this beautiful skin and over the years you will be so pleased you took the time to befriend your bust.  No crinkles or droop for you – no turtle necks or even turkey necks! You are so wise to daily dose with Boob Tube, feel free to thank us in 20 years.  Source

My Final Impression:  I was very pleased with the sample size for this product.  A little bit goes a long way!  I was also very pleased with the smell of this product, amazing!  It's a little sticky when it fist goes on but seems to seep into the skin quickly.  I did notice a slight change in my skin.  It did seem slightly more firm.  I have been using this product for a while now (yes, I still have sample left!) and it has definetly become part of my every day routine.  I would recommend this product to those of you out there looking for a little bit of firming in your chest and neck.  Again, it isn't a miracle product and your aren't going to come away with perfectly perky tatas but if skin firming is what you are looking for then this is the product for you!  You can get the full size bottle (3.4fl.oz) for $45.00 here.

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Mama Mio Skincare.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Thursday, May 10, 2012

StyleUnited- New View. New You.


Today I'm here to share a new fashion and beauty website by P&G that recently launched called StyleUnited.  I was given an opportunity by SheSpeaks to be one of the first to check out this new website.  StyleUnited is brought to you by brands like Olay, Frederic Fekkai, DDF Skincare and Cover Girl!  Providing access to exclusive editorial content and personalized recommendations, StyleUnited connects women to their full style potential using these unique tools:
  • Style 360 - a fully personalized diagnostic quiz that has been designed to understand your individual needs in skin care, hair care, cosmetics and fashion.
  • Customized Beauty and Fashion Content - hundreds of curated articles, blogs and how-to videos from industry experts created to answer your every question while keeping you up on the latest trend news.
You start by creating a new account Here, then you take four quizzes to complete a "Style Profile".  The quizzes are "Mad for Makeup", "Skin Deep", "Hair Affair", and "Fashion Focus".  After you have answered the questions the site creates a "Style File" for you where you can find recommendations for products just for you including makeup, fashion, skincare, and haircare.  There are also some pretty neat articles and style tips on the site as well.  The best part about this site is it is free! Who wouldn't love a free beauty consultation, right?  Still not convinced to join?  Well, StyleUnited is hosting a StyleUnited: New View, New You Giveaway!  That's right ladies, everybody likes some free stuff!  Head on over and sign up now for a chance to win n class="blog_details_data">a $500 gift card for a shopping spree at Macy’s or Nordstrom.  Sounds pretty good to me!  Once you've had a chance to check out the site come back here and tell me what you think. 

I will be receiving a complimentary product from P&G or a $15 gift code to use for participating in this program.  All opinions expressed in this post remain my own opinion.

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Product Review: Kellett Skincare Clarifying Acne Treatment

Hello!  Today I will be reviewing a product I received in my April Beauty Army box- Kellett Skincare Clarifying Acne Treatment.  The sample I received was .01 fl oz. 

Product Details:  Helps to clear up existing acne pimples and prevent breakouts by penetrating pores and killing acne causing bacteria.  Wash face and hands with a non-medicated soap. Apply a pea sized amount twice daily or as directed by physician. Fair skinned individuals should begin with one application. Source.

My Initial Impression:  I'll take all the help I can get in the acne department, bring it on!

  • No smell;
  • Doesn't burn when applied to sensitive skin;
  • Didn't dry out my skin like some acne treatments.
  • For me, this sample size was way too small for me to be able to tell whether it helped with my scne or not.
My Final Impression:  When I got this sample I was pretty sure that the size of the sample was way too small to be able to tell whether or not it helped clear up my acne or not and I was right.  I still don't think this sample was big enough for me to get a real idea of how well it worked.  However, with that being said, the couple of times that I did use the product it did seem to help with my acne.  Again, I think this product is a little pricey at $75.00 for 1.7 fl oz, however, if it really does the job, which it seems to do, then it might be worth shelling out a few extra bucks for clearer skin.  The reason I'm not buying?  I wasn't able to test it enough to make sure it doesn't severely dry out my skin like other acne treatments have in the past.  In the past it has taken me several uses of a product before I develop the dry skin.  If I had a bigger size sample, and I could see that it doesn't dry out my skin then I would definitely buy this product.  So, if you don't have adverse reactions to acne treatments then I would definitely recommend picking up some of this stuff.   

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Kellett.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Product Review: Juicy Couture's Viva La Juicy

Today I am reviewing another product from my April Birchbox: Juicy Couture's Viva La Juicy.  The sample size I received was 0.5 FL O.Z.

Product Details:  When you’re heading out on the town, you need a glamorous scent to match your head-turning look. Viva La Juicy’s fruity floral fragrance is just the thing — it’s bold and attention-grabbing.  Top notes of wild berries and sweet mandarin flirt with lady-like middle notes of honeysuckle, jasmine, and gardenia. Warm base notes of caramel, amber, vanilla, sandalwood, and praline hover beneath it all. Source.

My Impression:  I'm not doing the normal format for my posts because there isn't a whole lot to say about a perfume sample, so I'll make is short and sweet.

I had heard of this product before but had never tried it.  I admittedly neglect myself when it comes to perfume and I usually use body sprays from Bath & Body Works instead of perfume.  I have a hard time justifying spending so much money on a scent but I still love to try perfume samples and maybe one day one of these samples will change my mind!  I LOVED that this one has a spray top on the sample vial as opposed to having to pull out a stopper and risk spilling perfume all over my hands.   I really liked the scent of this one however, I do think it is a little pricey--the full size (3.4 oz) is $89.00.  So, while I loved the scent I won't be going out and purchasing it, unless I can find it half price.

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or Juicy Couture.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Product Review: CoCo Cosmetics Jovie Jubilee Luxury Body Lotion

This is the first of a few scheduled posts because this weekend I am on vacation with my hubby and little man!  Anyway, today I am reviewing another product that I received in my April Look Bag: CoCo Cosmetics Jovie Jubilee Luxury Body Lotion.  The sample size I received was 2 oz.  

Product Details:  A festive scent that works for anyone, at any time of the year. A celebration for your skin. This moisturizing lotion has tea tree oil and pro vitamins to help your skin stay soft.  Source.

My Initial Impression:  I did not like the packaging for this product.  I'm not really sure what I don't like about it or how to describe it but the colors make the scent look "heavy" as opposed to a light colored bottle which makes me think something is more light.  Hopefully this makes sense.  There is something about this bottle that makes the product look low end.  I also did not like the scent of the product when I smelled it in the bottle, it seemed a little strong and "perfumey" (yes, I know this isn't a word.)

  • Hydrates skin nicely;
  • Doesn't make skin overly oily;
  • Scent isn't quite as strong once it has been on the skin for a few minutes.  
  •  Initial smell of product was off-putting for me.  A little too strong of a scent.  It did lighten up considerably once I put it on my skin but I'm still on the fence about the smell of this one.
  • Packaging could use some work.
Final Impression:  I am a big fan of scented body lotions so I really wanted to like this product but it was just okay.  Nothing spectacular and if I was browsing in a store and picked up this product and smelled it I wouldn't buy it.  If you like very flowery scents then you might like this product so I won't advise against it totally, I would just suggest sampling it before buying.  If you are interested in buying you can get the full size product in a 16 oz bottle for $9.99 and a 14 oz bottle for $14.99.

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or CoCo Cosmetics.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Friday, May 4, 2012

Product Review: Purlisse SPF 30

Today I will be reviewing the Purlisse SPF 30 Essential Daily Moisturizer that I received in my April Look Bag.  For me, being the pasty pale white girl that I am, SPF is really important so I always make sure to incorporate products into my daily routine that include SPF protection including my makeup and most importantly my moisturizer.  I have combination skin, so my forehead and t-zone is very dry but my chin is oily and prone to acne.  It's important to me to have a moisturizer that doesn't make my chin too oily while still giving my t-zone that extra moisture it needs so I was really interested to try this product.  The sample I received for this product was .5 oz.   

Product Details:  Hydra~Shield Complex provides balanced UVA/UVB sun protection, while Vitamin E and Soy Proteins let skin's softer, supple side shine through White Tea calms sensitive skin.  Absorbs in an instant for quick-dry application.  Non-whitening formula allows for under makeup perfection.  Source.

My Initial Impression:  The texture of this product reminds me of sunscreen so I was hoping it wasn't going to leave my face feeling greasy, a common problem I have with facial moisturizers.  It doesn't have an odor which is good because I hate having to smell something on my face.

  • No smell;
  • Smooth application;
  • Does not leave face feeling greasy;
  • Doesn't leave while color on face to mess up makeup.
  • None that I can think of.
Final Impression:  I really enjoyed using this product.  It left my face feeling nice and smooth and not overly greasy, a big plus in my book!  I love that it has SPF 30 as opposed to SPF 15 because like I said I'm pale and can use all the protection I can get.  This also doesn't change the texture of my foundation like some moisturizers do.  Overall I was very pleased with this product and would recommend it.  The full size product is 1.7 oz and sells for $55.00 here.

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or Purlisse.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Product Review: Aquolina Pink Sugar

Today I will be reviewing a product sample I received from my April Beauty Army box- Aquolina Pink Sugar.  Unlike most people I actually like perfume samples as long as they smell good.  I agree though, with perfume you either love it or hate it and there isn't really anything in between (for me at least).  The sample size I received was 1.8 ml or 0.06 fl oz.

Product Details:  Two drops of perfume and the world is tinted pink. Pink is the color of femininity, sweetness and passion. Pink is the color of emotions, of sensuality and indulgent innocence. Pink Sugar is a cloud of sweetness that lasts long on the skin.  A unique olfactory experience interlacing fantasy and reality. The encounter of femininity and inner childhood. The earliest memories in life are also the most addictive. Nostalgia of cotton candy tinted with gourmand raspberry, tickled by the greenness of fig leaf, and lifted by the citrus notes of bergamot and Sicilian orange.  Source.

My Initial Impression:  I loved the packaging on this little sample, super cute and looks like a yummy piece of candy.  I like sweet smelling perfumes so I was hoping I would like this one.  I was a little disappointed to see that it wasn't a spray sample as those are much easier to use.

  • Cute packaging;
  • Although not a spray sample the bottle is easy to open and doesn't spill like some perfume samples;
  • Smells yummy!
  • I like sweet smelling perfumes but this one is very sweet smelling so I can see if you aren't a fan of sweet smells this one might be a little strong for you.
Final Impression:  I really liked this sample it was a definite hit for me.  I also like that they sell a lot of other products to compliment the scent so you could get the whole collection if you wanted.  I'm not sure if I'm actually going to purchase this scent or not.  The price isn't bad at all at $30.00 for 1 fl oz, $45.00 for 1.7 fl oz, and $60.00 for 3.4 fl oz but I actually really liked another scent that I tested this month as well so I am torn between the two.  I would recommend if you are looking for a new scent that you try a sample of this product before purchasing.

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Aquolina.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Product Review: Orofluido Beauty Elixr

Today I am pleased to bring you a review of the Orofluido Beauty Elixr which was included in my April Look Bag.  The sample I received was 0.17 fl oz.  I cant seem to find the actual size for the full size product anywhere so I'm not sure how big the full size product is.

Product Details:

Beauty elixir for all hair types, with a pure luxuriance that envelops your hair. Three organic natural oils in an exquisite mixture with a pleasant, silky texture, absorbed rapidly and leaving no residue in the hair.  Its delicious amber fragrance with a vanilla foundation will transport you into a fascinating world of oriental perfume. Applied to damp hair it:
  • Reduces drying time;
  • Leaves hair light, silky and easy to comb;
  • Gives hair body and movement;
  • Enhances the natural shine of the hair.
Applied to dry hair it:
  • Gives hair instant shine;
  • Controls frizzing and makes combing easier.

My Initial Impression:  I have tried many hair oils in the past with no success.  My hair has an interesting texture, it is frizzy but also can become very fine and oily at times as well.  So I was very hesitant to try another hair oil for fear of having that slick oily look to my hair.  I decided to give it a try on a  weekend so if it didn't turn out well I didn't need to show myself in public.  I applied it to my damp hair immediately after getting out of the shower and brushed my wet hair with the product still in.  I then proceeded with my normal morning routine of letting my hair air dry a bit while applying my makeup.

  • Has a nice subtle smell to it;
  • Not overly oily like some hair oils;
  • Doesn't leave your hands oily after applying the product;
  • It DOES actually cut down on drying time;
  • A little goes a long way so this product could definitely last a long time;
  • It made my hair incredibly silky, smooth and shiny but NOT oily at all!;
  • It didn't weight my fine hair down so I still got the body I was looking for along with the smoothness and shine.
  • I honestly couldn't find any.
Final Impression:  I was really prepared not to like this product but I was pleasantly surprised and it ended up being my absolute favorite product out of all three sample programs this month.  I love the way it makes my hair look and feel and when I do run out I will definitely be purchasing more and incorporating it into my every day routine.  The best part is that I think this product is pretty reasonably priced.  You can get the full sized product from The Look Store for $39.98 for non-members and $31.98 for members.  I think that's a pretty good price considering how little of the product you have to use.  I would definitely recommend this product if you are looking for something to smooth your hair while not weighing it down or making it look greasy. 

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or Orofluido.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Product Review: June Jacobs Perfect Pumpkin Enzyme Polish

Today I will be reviewing another product I received in my April Birchbox.  This is the June Jacobs Perfect Pumpkin Enzyme Polish.  The sample I received was 0.5 fl oz.     

Product Details:  Paraben and preservative free, this spicy, detoxifying face and body polish, infused with a powerful pumpkin enzyme, combined with the gentle exfoliation of crushed bamboo and jojoba micro beads helps to cleanse the skin of dead cells. Natural acids polish and refine, while rich emollients leave skin silky smooth, soft and radiant. Powerful patent pending anti-oxidant blend of white, red and green tea extracts combined with goji berry, pomegranate and grape seed extracts help to neutralize free radicals, protect skin from environmental toxins and combat the visible signs of premature aging.  Source.

Where to Buy:  You can buy this product directly from June Jacobs here or from Birchbox here.  The price is the same either way, $60.00 for 3.8 fl oz. 

My Initial Impression:  Another facial scrub, but the pumpkin scent could be the redeeming factor.  The real test would be to see how it made my face look and feel.

  • AMAZING smell- Seriously, this stuff smells like a freshly baked pumpkin pie!  If you like the smell of pumpkin you are going to love the smell of this stuff.  
  • Very nice texture- Unlike most facial scrubs this stuff has a texture that isn't too grainy and isn't too fine.  
  • Feels good going on- It's like a mini massage for my face!
  • Leaves skin feeling clean and smooth after use.
  • Let's face it, at $60.00 this stuff isn't cheap. 
Final Impression:  This was hands down one of my favorite products I received in this months Birchbox.  I LOVED the smell of it as it reminded me of my absolute favorite time of year.  I also loved how it felt going on my face and how smooth and clean it left my face feeling afterwards.  The only downfall I have about this product is the price.  However, although you can use this product on your whole body, I believe that if you just use it on your face you can actually get a lot of uses out of the product and make it last a long time therefore getting your moneys worth. I have been using the sample tube for a little over a week now once a day and there is still a little bit left.  I'm a middle class working mom on a budget so I need to be careful what kind of money I am spending on beauty products (trust me, I spend enough as it is).  With that being said, I would definitely recommend this product if you like facial scrubs because I believe it is worth the money. 

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or June Jacobs.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.