DNIJVI8azI21enJbfWoVBm5Kvjk

Thursday, June 28, 2012

July Birchbox Man

Alright guys, it's finally our turn!  For a while now you've seen a bunch of women's products being reviewed on our site and now there's going to be more stuff for us!

I was excited about signing up for the Birchbox Man and now that I've received my first box I'm even more excited.  I'm going to try out the products and give my feedback once I get a chance to get to know the product.

Until then, want to take a look inside?


Here's what's inside the box:

CoSTUME NATIONAL Scent Intense:  I have to admit, I don't spend a lot of money on myself.  If it's something I could do without why buy it?  That's just me, but I know how much my wife likes when I wear cologne, so we'll see if this one is a winner or not.

John Allan's Slick Water Pre-Shave Solution:  I have sensitive skin so when shaving it's inevidble that I'm going to have razor burn. So I'm looking forward to seeing how this one works out.

Quirky Cordies:  Something that keeps charging cords and speaker plugs in one place without falling on the floor once I unplug something?  Nice!  I can tell you that this was one of the first things I opened and have began using immediately.  I love electronics, so wires and cords are usually lying around my work station.  So this one may be an instant hit with me.

Quirky Wrapster:  This product allows you to wrap up your headphone wires and doubles as a stand for your iPhone? Sounds good.  I don't have an iPhone, but I do have an Android phone so let's see how creative this product let's me get.

Supersmile Professional Whitening System:  I'll give it a shot. Let's see how good this is.

I'm exctied to get started trying this stuff out and sharing with you all my experiences.  Until then, guys, if you haven't been to Birchbox Man's website yet swing on by. Click here to sign up if you want to receive these products and others each month.

The Birchbox Man was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox Man or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Mom Vox Box from Influenster

Happy Wednesday!  Today I'm excited to announce that I finally received my Mom Vox Box from Influenster!  If you haven't had a chance to check out Influenster you should go check it out now by clicking here...no seriously I will wait...

Welcome back!  Hopefully you went to Influenster's website and signed up if you aren't already a member.  This is my second Vox Box from Influenster and I love getting and trying new products!  Shall we take a peek inside the box?


Here's what was included in my box:

  • Ivory Soap Bar:  My husband uses bar soap while I use body wash so I think I will pass this one on to him but it will definitely not go to waste!
  • Superfruits Tea Sampler by Stash Tea: I'm a big fan of Stash Tea so I'm excited to try these.  I think this time I will make iced tea with them.
  • DenTek Flossers: I already use these so I know they are fantastic!
  • Nektar Honey Crystals: I have never heard of these before so I'm excited to try them.  I love honey so if they taste like honey I'm sold!
  • Quaker Soft Baked Oatmeal Cookie: Yum! I'm a big fan of oatmeal cookies so this one won't last too long!
  • imPRESS Press-On Manicure: I'm not sure how to feel about these.  I haven't used press on nails since I was a teenager and the only thing I remember about them was that they would fall off quickly and at the most inopportune times.  But, I'm always up for trying new things so I will give these a try on a weekend when I have nowhere to go just in case. 
I'm bummed to see that some people got a little extra gift in their box but I didn't get anything extra in mine.  Oh well.  I will take some time to use these products and report back on what I think.

Are you an Influenster?  Did you get the Mom Vox Box?  If so, what did you think?

Also, this is the last day for our giveaway so if you haven't entered make sure you do!

Disclaimer: All products were provided to me free of charge by Influenster for my review.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Product Review: Befine Gentle Cleanser

Two posts in one day?  I know, shocking!  But I couldn't wait to tell you about an amazing product from Befine Skin Care that I had the pleasure of trying- Befine Gentle Cleanser.


Now, I know I have mentioned this before but I LOVE Befine!  I have written two other reviews about other products from Befine and you can find them here and here, and guess what, I still use both of those products every single day!  Another thing I love about Befine is that all of their products are free of allergens, fragrance, parabens and preservatives. The line is also vegan and never tests on animals.  Now, on to the review!

What They Say: This exotic indulgence uses Coconut Oil and Jojoba micro beads to smooth and soften as it gently works to refine the skin texture and improve the skin's dairty.  Tea Tree Oil helps with overactive skin, while Orange Extract helps to detoxify and maintain the skins optimal moisture balance.

Benefits: Gently cleanses while invigorating skin and improving circulation.  Prevents premature aging as it supports skins collagen and elastin Smooths wrinkles and tightens skin.  Helps retain moisture leaving skin renewed and refreshed.  Keeping It Simple, Keeping It Clean.

Apply to damp skin, rub upward in circular motion.  Rinse.

My Impression:  This stuff smells AMAZING!  One of the reasons I love Befine so much is that everything on their menu...I mean product line...smells good enough to eat, seriously.  This stuff has such a refreshing peppermint smell.  I have been using this product for a little over a week now and I can tell you that it makes my face feel so clean and refreshed.  There is a slight cooling sensation when you apply the cleanser, perfect for summertime skin.  This is definitely another product that I will be adding to my daily routine.  You can purchase a 3.4 oz /100ml Pump for $24.00 here.  If you haven't already, please head on over to Befine's website and check out all of their amazing products.  Are you wondering about some of the other products Befine has to offer?  Well, you're in luck because I have more amazing Befine products to review so stay tuned!

Also, our giveaway is coming to an end soon so be sure to enter before it's too late!

Disclaimer: This product was provided to me by Befine Skin Care free of charge for my review. I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review. All opinions are my own honest personal opinions.

June Look Bag!

Good morning!  I've been crazy busy the last few days and I almost forgot to share my June Look Bag with you!


Here's what I got in this month's bag:

  • Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing Cream: I have already done a review on this, you can find it here.  
  • Snowberry Intensive Renewal Face Serum: Another anti-aging product, seriously!  I'm excited to try this one though because I have never heard of Snowberry before.
  • Too Faced - Sparkler Glamour Gloss "Pink Bling":  I'm excited to get some makeup in my Look Bag!  I have heard of Too Faced but have never actually tried this product.  The only thing that kind of irks me is that this product appears to be discontinued.  It seems you can get it from other places but it's not on Too Faced's website anymore.  This is the second time I have received a discontinued product from Look Bag.
  • Korres Eyeshadow in Pink: This is a pretty dark pink for me but I love eyeshadow so I will give it a try.  I believe this one is also a discontinued item.  Seriously?
  • Prescriptives Lip and Eye Pencil Sharpener: I usually use cream liner or use my mineral shadows as eyeliner so I don't really have a need for this.  I'm not exactly sure what I'm going to do with it yet.  
What are my feelings about this month's bag?  I'm not really sure.  I like some of the items I received but it slightly annoys me that they continue to give discontinued items.  It also annoys me that they do not have all of the products they send out on their website so I have to go to other places to find out about the products. I'm not giving up on Look Bag quite yet, we will see what they provide next month. Do you subscribe to the Look Bag?  Were you happy with your bag this month?

Don't forget to enter our giveaway (look to the right on the sidebar).

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Monday, June 25, 2012

Product Review: KLUTCHclub Box

Good morning!  Today I'm excited to bring you a review of another sample box program.  I know what you're thinking- this girl is obsessed with sample boxes- well, you are correct, I am obsessed with sample boxes but this one is a little different.  Usually you see me reviewing beauty sample boxes but the KLUTCHclub box is different.  KLUTCHclub is a subscription company that delivers health, wellness, and fitness products right to your door.


What They Say:  We all want to stay healthy! But it can be hard to find the smartest snack choices on-the-go, carve out time to work out, and determine things like if there’s lead in your lipstick or formaldehyde in your haircare products (seriously!). Who – in today’s crazy world – can keep up with all of that? Now, no matter how busy or stressful your lifestyle, KLUTCHclub makes it easy.KLUTCHclub is a new monthly subscription service that sends a curated and “themed” box of holistic health, fitness and wellness products right to your doorstep every month, making it a no brainer to incorporate healthier choices with ease. You’ll learn about new, niche brands and products that suit your lifestyle, and also get access to exclusive deals and offers from companies that share your values. The best part is that each box is full of $50+ of products, but only costs $16 a month for a full year subscription, $17 a month for a three month subscription, or $18 a month for a one month subscription! 

What Was Included in My Box: 

Hydroxatone’s Instant Effect 90 Second Wrinkle Reducer- When I saw this I thought for sure it had to be a sample size but upon surfing the net I see that the .33 fl oz bottle is actually a full size product that retails for around $70! I have been using this product for a couple of days now and I am amazed at the results. This is by far the best wrinkle reducing product I have ever used. Now, this is not an organic product nor does it claim to be so keep that in mind if you are concerned about the ingredients. With that being said, if you have some fine lines under your eyes like me this product works amazing well at smoothing them out. You can find this product a little bit cheaper if you shop around a bit. You can check out the product description here.

ONE coconut water- I'm not usually a fan of coconut flavors (unless it's rum!) and this product was no exception. I wish I could say I liked it but I just wasn't a fan of the taste. Coconut water has a lot of health benefits so if you like the taste of coconut water then you might want to check out this product here.
Two $25 Off Coupons to Moving Comfort- If you're looking for some fitness duds you can check out Moving Comfort's website for things like sports bras, capris, pants, accessories, and other fitness apparel. The Prices are reasonable but I wasn't able to find a size chart or fitting guidelines other than for the sports bras. Other than that the prices are reasonable and the clothes seem like nice quality. The coupon is a good deal and I will definitely be taking advantage.
Coupon for a free download (up to $10) from Yoga Download- I think this a great value because you can get up to a 60 minute class that you can use several times until you get bored and want to try something new.
Two Think Thin bars- Think Thin's website says that their bars have 60% less sugar and 2x more protein than other fruit and nut bars. These were pretty good compared to most other protein bars I have tried but they still had the distinct taste of a protein bar. I liked them but I do Weight Watchers and the points plus were a little high on one of these to use it as a snack.
A KLUTCHclub water bottle- A pretty decent size water bottle.

Overall I was very pleased with the KLUTCHclub box. It is worth the $17 monthly charge for sure and if you want to try a sample box that contains health and lifestyle products this is definitely the way to go. If you're interested in signing up or seeing what's included in the July box you can check it out here.

Thanks for reading and it haven't already done so please check out our current giveaway (look to the right sidebar) and enter to win!!

Disclaimer: The KLUTCHclub box was provided to me free of charge for my review. I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review. All opinions are my own honest personal opinions.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Product Review: Kelly Teegarden Organics Regenerate - Body Polish

Good morning!  Today I'm excited to bring you a review of another one of Kelly Teegarden Organics' amazing products- Regenerate - Body Polish!  I know I've said it in the past but what I love about this company is the story behind it.  Kelly Teegarden is a thyroid cancer survivor who has made it her mission to help to reduce the risk of cancer by eliminating cancer causing chemicals in the products we put on our skin every single day.  Kelly has developed a product line that is made with Certified Organic and Natural ingredients and contains no cancer causing ingredients.  Unfortunately, cancer has taken too many lives in my family for me to not take it seriously.  It's unfortunate that it took me this long to worry about the chemicals that I have been putting on my skin but when my son was born it suddenly became much more important to me.


What They Say: Regenerate is a multi-fruit complex body polish rich with antioxidants such as goji berries and pomegranate and is formulated to stimulate the skins cell turnover. Most importantly, this product is perfect for sensitive skin that cannot tolerate enzyme peels. Polishing the face and body with the Goji and Pomegranate polish a few times a week is highly recommended to remove dead cells allowing the skin to look fresh and youthful. Using Regenerate allows the other KTO products to work more.  Polishing the skin on the face and body with the goji and pomegranate polish a few times a week is highly recommended to remove dead cells allowing the skin to look fresh and youthful. Source.


My Impression: The product itself has a nice light scent. It is also a very gentle body polish unlike others that I have tried that are hard or rough on your skin. This is great news for someone like me who has very sensitive and light skin so any redness or irritation is magnified. Plus, the fact that it is chemical free is a huge plus for me. KTO recommends cleansing first and the applying a thin coat and gently massaging your face for 15 to 30 seconds. You can also use this on your body as well.


Another problem I have had in the past with body polishes is that some of them have an oily consistency and leave my skin feeling a little oily after use. This one doesn't have that oily consistency and leaves my skin feeling fresh and smooth after use. It also doesn't have a harsh smell so it doesn't interfere with whatever scent you apply after getting out of the shower.

Overall, I think this the perfect body polish to use if you have concerns about the type of chemicals you are putting on your skin. In addition, this body polish is perfect for summertime use because it isn't heavy and doesn't leave your skin feeling greasy after use.
You can purchase Kelly Teegarden Organics' Regenerate - Body Polish for $58.00 for a 4 fl oz tube here.
Thanks for reading and stay tuned in the coming days for another review on another one of Kelly Teegarden Organics' products. Also, don't forget to enter our current giveaway (look to your right on the sidebar for the link).

Disclaimer: This product was provided to me by Kelly Teegarden Organics free of charge for my review. I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review. All opinions are my own honest personal opinions.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Product Review: L'Oreal Paris Youth Code™ Day/Night Cream

Happy almost Friday!  I don't know about you but I am SO ready for the weekend!  Today I'm bringing you a review of L'Oreal Paris Youth Code™ Day/Night Cream.

What They Say: Discover an ultra effective formula that helps regain youthful looking skin by increasing cell turnover, fighting against fine lines, and visibly reducing signs of fatigued skin. This potent daily moisturizer boosts skin’s natural powers of regeneration so it regains the qualities of young skin – skin looks rested, smoother and youthfully luminous. Signs of stress, fatigue and aging are visibly diminished. This unique, luxurious formula leaves a light, velvety smooth finish. Apply in the morning to illuminate skin tone. Apply in the evening for overnight recovery.


My Impression:  First I have to start off by saying that I am NOT a makeup snob.  What I mean by that is if it works and/or looks good I don't worry about whether it is a "drug store brand" or a high end brand.  I mean sure, we all like to try new expensive products but to sometimes it isn't always possible to own all high-end products.  So, you will never see me bashing something on here because you can buy it at Wal-Mart.  Anyway, moving on...



This product is very light and has no smell at all, a must have for me when applying a product to my face.  I used this product after washing my face both at night and in the morning before applying my makeup.  After applying the product sinks into your skin pretty quickly so you aren't left with a greasy film on your face.  How did the product work?  Overall I was pleased with the results.  Did it magically transform my face? No.  But did it make my skin a little smoother and give it a nice glow? Yes.  Overall I would recommend this product for someone who is looking for a good day/night cream that doesn't break the bank.  You can purchase a 1.5 oz tub at pretty much any retailer for anywhere from $17.00 to $25.00 depending on where you buy it.  Click here for more information on this product.

Thanks for reading and don't forget to enter our current giveaway (look to the right on the sidebar).

Disclaimer: All products were provided to me free of charge for review by Smiley360.com.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Just FAB Cosmetics Review & Giveaway! **CLOSED**

Today I am very excited to bring you a review on a new brand of products that I was able to try for the first time.  As I have mentioned before, I have been using mineral makeup for a while now.  I love how it feels on my face and how it looks after applying.  I'm always looking for new brands to try and this one is a home run!


What They Say:  Just FAB Cosmetics offers all natural mineral makeup. You will NOT find any Bismuth, Talc, Chemicals, Oils, Fragrances, Synthetic Dyes, Preservatives, Parabens, or Additive in the makeup. Everything Just FAB offers is Eco-Friendly, Hypoallergenic, will not expire and because it's a dry powder you do not have to worry about bacteria.

Everything is handmade. There are NO unnecessary and skin irritating fillers in this makeup. Titanium Dioxide, Zinc, and so on are considered fillers. Basically if it's not Mica or Iron Oxide it's a filler. Fillers are used for adding adhesion, slip, and coverage to your makeup.

The "Just FAB Cosmetics" product line currently offers foundation, eye shadow/liner, blush, bronzer, mineral veil, highlighter/illuminizer, concealer/color corrector, eye primer, setting spray, and more to come!

Source.

My Impression: I was so pleased to be able to try this makeup.  I'm always looking for more ways to remove the chemicals from products I use and replace them with more natural versions.   Just FAB Cosmetics' products don't contain any of those additives found in a lot of popular cosmetics.  I was also pleased to learn that the  Just FAB Cosmetics' foundation does not have any Bismuth, you know, the stuff responsible for giving you that "glow" that some other mineral makeup includes?  Well, for me that "glow" always looked "oily".  In addition, Bismuth has been known to cause irritations in some people with sensitive skin.  I have since learned to look for makeup that doesn't include Bismuth.  Another great thing I love about the  Just FAB Cosmetics' products is that you can get them in three different sizes, sample, medium, and large.  So, if you aren't sure if you are going to like the color or the product you can get a sample size and try it out.

Now, all through my teens and even into my twenties I had clear skin and NEVER had a problem with acne but somehow when I hit my thirties everything changed.  For the past couple of years I have been getting acne on a pretty regular basis at least a couple of times a month.  So, I am constantly looking for ways to cover the acne and acne scars.  That's where  Just FAB Cosmetics' Green Concealer/Color Corrector comes in.


This stuff does a great job at masking those unsightly acne scars but be careful because a little of this stuff goes a long way.  If you make a mistake and put it on too thick you might be walking around with little green spots on your face-- I swear I didn't do that...anyway, moving on...

Because I'm super pale I chose the very lightest shade for my foundation- porcelain.


Now, I must tell you that even some of the fair foundations in other brands have been too dark for my skin. Yes, I'm actually that pale, at least during the winter anyway. My skin gets slightly darker during the summer months but just barely because I usually wear sunscreen on my face to keep my skin from burning. I have had a problem with foundations looking orange on my face no matter how light I go for as long as I can remember. The good news is that the  Just FAB Cosmetics' porcelain is about as light as you can go. In fact, its perfect for my wintertime skin color but I may need to move up to the next shade for summer which I believe is Babydoll.

In addition to the foundation, I was also able to try the Eye Shadow Primer as well.


I have a confession to make, I don't always use eye shadow primer but I can tell you it sure makes a difference when you do! Using just a little bit of primer helps to adhere the eye shadow to your skin as well as helps to bring out the color of the shadow.

The colors you are seeing above are Champagne, Hazelnut, and Lilac. As you can see the colors are dense and full of shimmer.  Just FAB Cosmetics has matte colors also if you aren't into shimmer. I have to say that my favorite shade is Lilac, I love the way it shimmers in the light.

After you've completed your look you can finish it all off with Just FAB Cosmetics' mineral veil for an airbrushed look.


So, now that I have told you all about this amazing new cosmetics company I have some exciting news to share, one lucky reader will win three full size shadows of your choice and a full size eye primer!  All you have to do is enter the giveaway below!  The winner will be picked at 7:00 p.m. on June 28, 2012.  

In the meantime, click on the banner below and head on over to Just FAB Cosmetics shop and take advantage of the 50% sale going on now.  I think the sale ends on June 26th so take advantage now while you can.  


Disclaimer: These products were provided to me by Just FAB Cosmetics free of charge for my review. I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review. All opinions are my own honest personal opinions.

**GIVEAWAY IS OVER**

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Product Review: Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing Cream

Today I'm bringing you yet another product I received in my May Beauty Army Box: Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing Cream.


What They Say:  Atopalm Intensive Moisturizing Cream is a unique, paraben-free facial and body cream for sensitive skin and dry skin, created with Atopalm’s patented MLE technology. It contains plant-derived ingredients which mimic the structure of the natural skin lipids, thereby aiding their replenishment in the stratum corneum. This dry or sensitive skin cream helps to restore the skins’ protective moisture barrier, leading to softer skin. Our sensitive and dry skin cream for face and body also helps prevent the over-evaporation of the skins’ own moisture and protects the entire face from environmental stresses.Finally, this lush facial cream for sensitive skin and dry skin aids in restoring the natural lipids lost from the skin barrier which are depleted by harsh skin treatments, making it perfect for use after microdermabrasion. Intensive Moisturizing Cream leaves the skin feeling soft and supple. Sensitive skin creams are perfect for dry skin, damaged skin, and sensitive skin. While this moisturizing sensitive skin cream is great for the face, it’s also ideal for the rest of your body including your elbows and knees. If you’re looking for a body or facial cream for sensitive skin or dry skin, try Atopalm’s Intensive Moisturizing Cream today – the best moisturizer for dry skin.


My Impression:  If you're looking for a light non-irritating but super moisturizing cream then this one is for you.  It doesn't have a smell to it, not that I could detect anyway.  I don't really have any rough patches anywhere so I really couldn't test whether or not it helped with rough patches.  I think this would be a good moisturizer for dry skin during the winter.  I also think this would be a perfect moisturizer for men as well because it doesn't have a strong scent.  Overall I would recommend this product for someone with dry or sensitive skin, especially for use during those winter months when our skin tends to dry out the most.  You can purchase this product at Atopalm's website for $30.00 for a 3.4 oz tub.  

Thanks for reading and stay tuned because tomorrow we will be having a giveaway!  Also, don't forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Atopalm.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Monday, June 18, 2012

Product Review: Summer Soap Box from Fortune Cookie Soap

Happy Monday!  Today is a gloomy rainy day here in Maryland but hopefully today's post will cheer you up!  Today I'm reviewing the Summer Soap Box by Fortune Cookie Soap!  I was so excited to get this box and even more excited when I opened it up and took a look inside.  I have had some time to use all of the products so now it's time for my review.


1oz. Body Wash in Road Trip: First, before I get to reviewing the actual product I have to talk about the plastic bottle this product and another one came in. It was impossible for me to squeeze this bottle! It was hard as a rock and there was no way I was getting any product out via squeezing the bottle. I had to un-screw the top and use the product that way. No biggie and certainly not a reflection on the product inside but definitely something that FCS should consider for future sample boxes. Anyway, on to the product--I thought the scent "Road Trip" was a fresh, clean, and "summary" scent. It had a very light lemon scent and the body wash itself was very light and gentle. None of the summer products have launched on the website as of yet so I'm not 100% positive of the price or size of this one but it looks like all of their other body washes come in three different options: 8 oz for $3.00, Sulfate Free 4oz for $4.99, and Sulfate Free 8oz for $6.99.


1oz. OCD in Summer Sweet Tea: I use hand sanitizer often, especially at work, so I was excited to see this product. Again, this was another product in the bottle that was impossible to squeeze but I just opened the lid and used it that way. This size is perfect for carrying around in your purse and I still have a ton of it left. It's not sticky like some hand sanitizers and the scent is exactly as described, sweet tea! It looks like FCS' hand sanitizers sell for $2.89 for a 1oz bottle and you can get it with or without glitter.

Mini Mister of Sparkle Me! in Beach Bunny:  This was one of my absolute favorite products that came in the Summer Soap Box!  The smell "Beach Bunny" is divine and is a perfect summer scent of coconut.  The sparkle is very light but just enough to give your skin a nice glow.  I couldn't get any pictures of the sparkle on my skin because my camera couldn't pick it up but I assure you that it is a very light sparkle.  I love the Beach Bunny scent and I am definitely looking forward to the summer line and I'm hoping that there will be many more products in this scent.  This is a totally new product for FCS so I have no idea what it will cost or what sizes will be available.
Fortune Cookie Soap in Sand Dollar:  This is the first thing I smelled when I opened the box for the very first time.  This has a very prominent peach scent to it.  I loved the scent and I'm still using this one as it seems to last forever!  The only thing I wasn't crazy about was what I assume are poppy seeds inside the soap.  I kept finding these little black things on my shower floor and on my towel and wondering what the heck they were.  I looked on their site and they have tons of different Fortune Cookie Soaps to choose from.  You can check out the variety of scents here.  I think these would make really cute party favors!  Looks like Fortune Cookie Soaps sell for $2.99 and up depending on the scent.

Hydrate Me! Body Conditioning Bar in Pool Party:  This was another product that I absolutely fell in love with!  It smells amazing and leaves your skin feeling nice and smooth.  Now, I must say that I wasn't exactly sure how to use this bar so I guessed.  I used it on wet skin after washing but before stepping out of the shower.  I have no idea if that is right but it worked just fine.  I can't even describe the actual scent of this one except to say it smells "yummy"!  This is another totally new product for FCS so I have no idea on the price.   

Solid Sugar Scrub, Sugar Fix, in Sugar Britches:  Again, I wasn't sure how to use this product so I just guessed.  I broke a little off and used it to scrub my body while in the shower.  I thought this would crumble the minute I tried to break a piece off but it didn't, it held together pretty well.  I loved the scent on this one as well. This is another totally new product for FCS so I have no idea on the price.

Flip Flop shaped Bath Bomb in Private Beach:  This is another one that I can't quite describe the smell.  It has a sweet smell that reminds you of summer for sure!  You could probably get more than one use out of one of these but I have a huge garden tub so I used the whole thing.  It made my bath water smell yummy and my skin feel nice and smooth.  I'm not sure how much this particular bath bomb will cost but looks like they start at $4.35 and go up to $9.99.

1oz. Dry Shampoo in Wish You Were Here:  I have been hearing a lot about dry shampoos lately but I had never tried one.  The idea just never appealed to me.  But, in the interest of trying everything in the box I did give it a try.  The shampoo smells amazing and it made my hair smell really nice too but I just didn't like the way it made my hair feel.  My hair is very dark and I felt like no matter how hard I tried I could still see some of the product in my hair.  I'm pretty sure it isn't the product but just dry shampoo in general.  Now at least I can say I tried it but I don't think it is for me.  This is another brand new product so I have no idea on size or price.

1oz. Whipped Cream in Pinky Swear:  I saved the best for last folks! This stuff smelled good enough to eat, seriously!  Don't worry, I didn't actually eat it but I did smell my arm frequently throughout the day.  I put this on wet skin after getting out of the shower and I can tell you not only did it smell amazing but it made my skin nice and smooth as well.  This was one of my favorite scents along with Beach Bunny.  As soon as the summer products launch I will be loading up on those two scents.


I am very happy that I decided to sign up for the Soap Box and  I can't wait to see what the Fall Soap Box is going to include.  I'm looking forward to some yummy fall-like scents.  In the meantime, you HAVE to go over to their website and check out their products and be on the lookout for the summer line as well as the sign up for the Fall box!  

The Summer Soap Box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Fortune Cookie Soap.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.  

Friday, June 15, 2012

Product Review / Recipe Review: Chicken of the Sea Pink Salmon



We came across this product because my wife stated she loved salmon cakes and we stumbled across this little pouch. It even had a recipe on the back of the pouch for salmon cakes. Couldn't beat that, and at the price of $1.29 per pouch? Yeah we'll try it. After trying it we loved it! It's even almost become a weekly meal for us. We have tweaked the recipe a bit to make it a little more healthier as well as added a little more flavor to the salmon cakes. I'll share that in a minute.

First, if you like eating fish I think you're going to like the flavor. If you're not a fish eater, give it a try. The flavor isn't strong at all, so you're not left with a powerful fish taste. I was surprised because the only salmon I have ever had was in fillet form. You know the kind you would get in a restaurant or in your seafood department. So I was a little leary at first. I mean how good can it be coming out of a pouch? Then we opened the pouch and dumped out the salmon. I'm not going to lie, if you judge this from looks alone you're probably not going to think it will taste good at all. Don't judge this on it's cover. Trust me.

Alright so it tastes good, what else do you have to say about this? Well it's a healthy option that can fit into your diet easily. I mentioned before that my wife and myself are doing Weight Watchers. Depending on how many cakes you make out of the recipe, determines how many points each cake is. We double the recipe which should give you 8 cakes. We always get 6 so our cakes are 5 points a piece, but it gives you good size cakes.

Here's the recipe with our modifications:
  • 2 Pouches of Chicken of the Sea Skinless & Boneless Pink Salmon
  • 1/2 cup Finely chopped green onions
  • 1/2 cup Reduced Fat Mayo with Olive Oil (Kraft)
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • Dash or two of Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/2 cup Bell Peppers (We use the sweet bells Red, Orange, and Yellow)
  • 2 Medium Eggs beaten
  • 2 cups Panko Breadcrumbs (Use your judgement. Don't want them too wet or too dry)
  • 1/2 tsp Seasoned Salt
  • **Calls for Butter or Olive Oil to cook in but remember if you use it it adds calories and fat**
    • We usually leave it out and cook it in the T-Fal pan without either since it won't stick
Combine onions, mayo, lemon juice and seasoning in bowl. Stir in the Salmon, egg and breadcrumbs. Form into balls and flatten them into cakes about 1/2 inch thick. Over medium heat cook 3 to 4 minutes per side or until golden brown. You're looking at a prep time of about 10 minutes and cook time of about 6-8 minutes. Can't beat that right?

Here's some pictures of the process.






Chicken of the Sea Pink Salmon was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Chicken of the Sea.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.

June Birchbox!

Finally Friday?  Could it be?  What are your plans for the weekend?  My hubby and I are having a date night tonight!  We're sending the little one over to his Nana & Pop Pop's and we're going out to dinner and then to a movie.  I love date nights because they are so few and far between. 

Anyway, I'm here because I want to show you my June Birchbox.  I actually received it a couple of days ago but didn't have the time to post it until today. 


Here are the items that were included in my box:
  • Apothederm™ Stretch Mark Cream- I'm excited to try this but my stretch marks have been hanging around for a few years now, 3 1/2 to be exact, and I'm not sure anything is going to get rid of them at this point.  But, it's part of being a mom and so while I wish my skin was flawless I know those marks just remind me of my little guy.
  • John Varvatos Star U.S.A. 1.7 oz- I know a lot of people were bummed about getting men's cologne but I actually didn't mind getting something for the Hubby.  My husband is one of the most selfless and giving men I know.  He is always giving me things so I was happy to give him something in return.  And, because he loved getting a sample of his very own we signed him up for the Men's Birchbox!  So stay tuned because we will be adding the Men's Birchbox into the mix shortly.
  • Scalisi Skincare Anti-Aging Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 30- More anti-aging stuff?  Geez, I seem to be getting a lot of that lately, is someone trying to tell me something?
  • theBalm® cosmetics Stainiac- I was so excited to get this!  I love the brand and I love lip stains!  The color looked shockingly bright red in the tube but it isn't that intense, I promise.
  • CleanWell Hand Sanitizing Wipes- These items were just okay for me.  I wasn't super excited to see them but I guess they could have been worse, like the plastic bags or fake tanning wipes that some people got.  I do use hand sanitizer but not usually wipes.  I think these are something that I can use on my son's hands though so I don't think they will go to waste.
  • BAND-AID® Brand Adhesive Bandages by Cynthia Rowley- I rarely ever find the need for a Band-Aid except for my son and I don't think he would appreciate me slapping one of these on him!  I think he would probably say something that he says to me frequently which is "Mommy, that's for girls and NOT boys!"  These are somewhat interesting though, I guess if you have to wear a Band-Aid why not do it in style, right?
Well, that's what was in my box.  What did you get in yours?  Did you love it or hate it?  Overall I guess I'm happy with this box.  It could have been worse.  If you aren't signed up for Birchbox here is my referral link.  Stay tuned for my review of the individual products! 

The Birchbox was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with Birchbox or any of the brands listed above.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions.  

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Product Review: Cover FX ClearPrep FX

Happy Thursday!  Today I'm bringing you a review on another product I got in my May Beauty Army BoxCover FX ClearPrep FX.  I picked this product because I am currently using bareMinerals Prime Time Foundation Primer but I'm always up for trying another primer, especially if it claims to be an acne treatment gel.  Seriously, in my teens I never had a problem with acne but now that I'm in my thirties I break out a lot more!    


What They Say:

WHAT DOES IT DO?

  • It is an “anti-shine” primer
  • Minimizes the appearance of fine lines and pores, facilitates blending and extends wear
  • Helps prevent and heal acne blemishes
SKIN TYPES- Teens, Men and Women with:

  • All skin types prone to acne breakouts
  • Oily, Oily-acneic
  • Sensitive skin (paraben free, oil free, fragrance free)
SUGGESTED USAGE

  • Prepare the skin using Clean FX.
  • Using clean fingers or foundation brush, apply a small amount of ClearPrep FX onto the face. 
  • Use alone as a treatment or under desired foundation texture.
Source.


My Impression:  I have been using this product for a couple of weeks now.  Yes, the sample has lasted that long!  You only need a pea sized amount each time you use it so a little goes a long way.  The texture and color of the primer is exactly the same as my regular primer so no differences there.  I haven't really noticed a difference as far as my acne (which only happens certain times of the month anyway) so I can't really say for sure whether this product treats acne or not.  As far as how the product wears, I have noticed that my foundation stays set for longer with this primer versus my other primer.  The full size of this product is $39.00 for 1oz versus $23.00 for 1 oz of the Prime Time.  So, I guess it really comes down to are you willing to pay the extra $16.00 for a little more wear time.  I'm on the fence with this one, what do you think?

Thanks for reading and don't forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Cover FX.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Product Review: Naked Princess - Naked Shine Luscious Lip Gloss

Happy Wednesday!  Today I'm bringing you another product from my May Look Bag: Naked Princess - Naked Shine Luscious Lip Gloss.  I was excited to see a lip gloss in the May bag.  I love lip gloss and I am always looking for the right color for my super thin lips.  I can't really use dark colors or very pink colors because I feel like it makes my lips look even thinner.


The sample pack came with four colors: Barely Coco, Barely Blush, Barely Nude, Barely Coral.  These are defiantly sheer glosses meant for a nude look with just a touch of color.  Here's the bad news- I don't have any swatches.  Why?  Because after I did my swatches I had a small camera snafoo and those pictures were the casualty.  I already used two of the samples so I figured providing you with swatches of just two colors was pointless.  So, I apologize that I don't have any swatches to show you.

What They Say:  A cleanly formulated, luxurious lightweight, non-tacky lip gloss in eight shades of nude. Contains built-in treatment and a gentle, non-stinging lip plumper.Formula Features:Infused with Shea Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Moroccan Vanilla, & Antioxidants for radiance & shine. A collagen-producing Peptide helps to plump lips without irritation to reduce the appearance of fine lines. In independent test studies, lips begin to look younger, smoother & fuller within five days.CLINICALLY & ALLERGY TESTED. NON-IRRITATING. Source.

My Impression:  I loved these lip glosses!  I am definitely a fan of a nude sheer gloss so I knew I would love these glosses.  They smell amazing and made my lips feel nice and smooth.  I don't know that they actually plumped my lips.  I guess they made my lips look fuller but it's hard to tell whether it actually plumped them.  I used the Barely Coco first and then the Barely Nude.  I'm moving onto the Barely Coral and will use the Barely Blush last.  The full size of these sell for $26.00 a piece and you can pick them up on Naked Princesses' Website.  Overall I would recommend this product if you like a nice sheer lip.

Thanks for reading and don't forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

The LookBag was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with The Look Store or Naked Princess.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

9FXVGZNMK37E

HauteLook & Blog News

Good morning!  This morning I would like to share with you a website that I stumbled upon a couple of weeks ago, HauteLook.  The website posts "events" daily that include deep discounts on products in categories like Women, Beauty, Home, Kids, and Men.  Each day they feature different products at a huge discount.  I have been stalking the beauty section of this website for a couple of weeks and today I finally made my first purchase.  What was it?  You'll have to wait and see because I will be doing a review when I receive it.  In the meantime, head on over and check it out for yourself and let me know what you think and if you signed up.


In addition to this awesome website, I wanted to share some other exciting news about the blog.  We will be working with a few awesome brands in the coming weeks and we are excited to share their products with you so stay tuned.  The best news?  We will be hosting a giveaway very shortly so make sure to check back often to win some pretty awesome products.  I'll give you a hint, if you like makeup you wont want to miss this giveaway! Don't forget to become a follower (look to the right sidebar), like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter as those will earn you extra entries in the giveaway.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

July Birchbox Announcement

The Birchbox blog just posted an update indicating that for the July box Birchbox will be teaming up with Glamour.  What do you think?  Love it or hate it?


I'm on the fence about this one.  The one and only themed box I got was the Gossip Girl box and I wasn't super impressed.  I'm especially concerned about the "tasty treat".  I would rather not get a snack in my Birchbox.  However, I will reserve judgment until I see it. 

What do you think?

Product Review: Weleda Refining Toner

Wow, I can't believe this is my first post reviewing anything from my May Beauty Army box!  I am way behind!

Today I am reviewing one of the products I got in my May Beauty Army box: Weleda Refining Toner.


What They Say: This refreshing natural facial toner purifies your skin and refines the pores after cleansing.Balanced skin begins with Biodynamic® iris root extract in our Weleda Refining Toner, which regulates moisture balance at the visible surface of your skin. Mildly astringent organic wild rose leaf extract in this natural facial toner clarifies your skin while organic lemon juice, high in vitamin C and mildly astringent, refines the pores. The subtle, fresh fragrance of natural essential oils in this natural facial toner revives your senses.Your skin looks clear and refreshed after using our Weleda Refining Toner, and is prepared for the next step of your natural beauty regimen—with our Iris Hydrating Facial Care, Wild Rose Smoothing Facial Care or Pomegranate Firming Facial Care. Source


My Impression:  I am a big fan of this toner.  I'm almost out of the sample (THANK YOU Beauty Army for giving such generous samples) and I am thinking I may need to purchase this one.  What do I love most about this product?  The fact that the smell is very gentle.  I don't like how most toners have a very intense smell.  I feel like it lingers on my face for most of the day.  This one smells very gentle and once you put it on the smell disappears.  It also makes my face feel nice and clean.  Another thing I love about this product is the price.  You can get a full size product for $17.00.  The other items in their line are reasonable priced as well.

Have you ever tried this product?  If so, what did you think?  If not, what is your favorite toner?

Thanks for reading and don't forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

The BeautyArmy box was purchased by me with my own money.  I am not affiliated with BeautyArmy or Weleda.  I am not being paid for my reviews and all opinions are my own personal opinions. 

Monday, June 11, 2012

Product Review: Dr. Scholl's® For Her High Heel Insoles

Happy Monday!  Today I'm reviewing Dr. Scholl's® For Her High Heel Insoles.  As you may or may not know, I'm a professional and I work in a professional setting full-time.  That means I have to dress nice for work and that includes wearing heels.  I was excited to try this product because believe it or not, I have never used any kind of insole for my shoes.


What They Say:  Guaranteed to provide all-day comfort, or your money back, Dr. Scholl's® For Her High Heel Insoles help prevent foot aches and pain caused by wearing high heels two inches and higher.

  • Unique design is clinically proven to help prevent high heel pain
  • Ultra-soft FabuSTEP® Gel Arch shifts pressure off ball of foot
  • Immediate and long lasting comfort guaranteed, or your money back
  • Practically invisible, even in strappy heels
  • Slim design won't make shoes feel tight
  • Insoles stay firmly in place, and are easily removable without damaging shoes
  • Made to fit women's sizes 6–10, including all open-style shoes
My Impression:  When I opened the package (which was a little bit of a pain to open) this is what I found inside.  These are made out of a gel-like material that is easily flexible.


They also have a sticky part that helps the insole adhere to your shoes.


I don't usually have a problem with heels hurting my feet or back anyway.  I'm not sure if it is because I have been wearing them for so many years or what.  So, I couldn't really test the claim that they help to relieve foot pain.  They did feel good on my feet though.  The insoles did stay firmly in place and were easily removable.  For me, this was a take it or leave it product.  I think if I was someone who suffered from foot pain I think these would help.  If you are interested in this product you can read more at drscholls.com.

All products were provided to me free of charge by BzzAgent for review.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Product Review: Immuno-Viva Renew Anti-Aging Serum

Happy Friday!  Today I'm excited to bring you my review of Immuno-Viva's Renew Anti-Aging Serum.  I know I've been talking about how I am noticing fine lines around my eyes lately.  It all comes with getting older and I've learned to love what those lines represent- smiles, laughter, and love.  BUT that doesn't mean I haven't been desperately trying to find something to smooth out those tiny lines.  That's where Immuno-Viva's Renew Anti-Aging Serum comes in.


What They Say: Renew Anti-Aging Serum, the certified organic wonder serum containing four organic super-antioxidant seed oils.

Renew Anti-Aging Serum instantly revitalizes the skin. Renew is made with a patented blend of seed oils with antioxidant activity that work synergistically to combat the signs of aging. Apply to face and under eyes morning and night to help reduce the appearance of:

* Wrinkles

* Scars

* Stretch marks

* Uneven skin tone

* Dehydrated skin

* Dark circles (under eyes)

Renew Anti-Aging Serum contains: Organic Cranberry Seed Oil, Organic Red Raspberry Seed Oil, Organic Sunflower Seed Oil, and Organic Black Cumin Seed Oil.

The parent company of Immuno-Viva was recently granted for “Synergistic Super Potent Antioxidant Cold Pressed Botanic Oil Blends.” (US Patent No. 7,897,194 B2). This patent covers the synergistic effect of antioxidant activity that occurs when cold pressed Black Cumin Seed Oil is blended with any other cold pressed seed oils. The antioxidant level after blending exhibits total antioxidant activity greater than the sum of the weighted average of the antioxidant activities of the individual oils. And, the patent covers the synergistic effect of antioxidant activity when used topically and/or when ingested.

What does this mean for Renew users? True super-antioxidant benefits!

The seeds of black cumin (Nigella sativa) have a long history as a spice as well as a health supplement in the Middle East, Asia, and parts of Europe. Black cumin seeds contain nigellone, a natural antihistamine and thymoquinone, which has anti-inflammatory properties. In addition to these two powerful components, Black Cumin Seed Oil is high in essential fatty acids and beta-sitosterol, a plant sterol known to support heart health.

Renew Anti-Aging Serum benefits from being produced from the NatureFRESH Cold Press™ technology – a certified organic production process. This proprietary process yields incredibly potent oils that retain nearly all their natural nutritional benefit. Since no heat or damaging solvents are used in production, the results are pure, natural and healthy.

My Impression: I had never heard of Immuno-Viva before trying this product. The product comes in a glass bottle with a little dropper that you use to dispense the product.


The texture is a bit oily at first but it absorbs into your skin very quickly and leaves your skin feeling very soft and smooth.


I have been using this product for about a week now in the p.m. on a clean face right before bed. I have noticed a slight softening of the lines around my eyes but what I have noticed more than anything is that my acne scars have lightened. This was not something that I expected from this product and I was pleasantly surprised. This product has a nice scent to it but it is very light and doesn't linger after application. The best thing about this product is that it is all organic. That means no harmful chemicals on your face! Overall I was impressed with the product and with the company as a whole. If you are interested in purchasing this product you can get it here for $49.95 or you can wait until it become available on drugstore.com. I actually think the price of this product is pretty reasonable considering the amount of product you need to use per application-very little. I have been using 1 to 2 drops each application and it hasn't even made a dent in the bottle. So, head on over to Immuno-Viva's website and check out this product and all of the other awesome products they carry. What's your anti-aging secret?

Also, don't forget to visit Honey Do's & Product Review on Facebook and click "like". Once we get to 30 likes we will be doing a giveaway! Were really close!

Disclaimer: This product was provided to me by PR free of charge for my review. I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review. All opinions are my own honest personal opinions.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Product Review: Vaseline® Total Moisture®

Today I bring you a review on Vaseline® Total Moisture®.  


What They Say-  The new and improved* Vaseline Total Moisture line features three variants: Vaseline® Total Moisture® for a clean feeling, Vaseline® Total Moisture® Cocoa Radiant™ for a rich feeling, and Vaseline® Total Moisture® Aloe Fresh for a light feeling. With thicker formulas and enhanced fragrances, each lotion combines the goodness of pure naturals with the power of the Stratys-3™ multi-layer moisture complex. These fast absorbing, non-greasy formulas infuse moisture at the top, core and deep down layers of skin, leaving skin feeling soft and healthy.

My Impression- Now, as a lover of all types of body lotions I'm pretty sure I have tried every brand out the (I may be exaggerating a bit but I have tried a lot).  When choosing a body lotion I usually go for something like Bath & Body Works Body Butter, although lately I have been on an organic/natural kick.  However, for the summer I like a lighter, less greasy body lotion.  When I see the name Vaseline I automatically think of that think goopy greasy stuff in the tub.  I'm sure it has its uses but it isn't something that I want to slather on my body.  So, when I saw this lotion I was worried it might be greasy.  I was pleasantly surprised.  It has a nice clean scent and isn't greasy at all.  I enjoyed the fresh clean scent and how light the lotion was.  I think this lotion is perfect for a light summer lotion when you don't want something overly greasy or overly smelly (to attract the bugs) on your body.  The product comes in a variety of sizes so you can choose what size is best for you.  You can find Vaseline® Total Moisture® in most drug stores like Rite Aid, Walgreens, and CVS.  Get more information here or check out Vaseline's website for other great products.

Disclaimer: All products were provided to me free of charge for review by Smiley360.com.  I am not affiliated with the company nor was I paid for my review.  All opinions are my own personal opinions.

NOTD: Color Club® Foil Collection in Disco Nap

Hey all!  Just a quick post to share my NOTD with you.  This was done with a base of  Color Club® Foil Collection in Disco Nap and a random gold glitter nail polish I had laying around- sorry I can't remember the name but you could do this look with any glitter polish.  I simply painted my nails with two coats of Color Club® Foil Collection in Disco Nap that I received in my May Birchbox and then used a makeup sponge to sponge on the gold glitter.  I think it turned out pretty cool, what do you think?